HIMYM: Trying Too Hard, but That Ending…

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER: 7.01 “The Best Man”
HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER: 7.02 “The Naked Truth”

Cupcake is back! Cupcake. Is. Back! And for those of you who aren’t familiar with cupcake, I am, of course, referring to Victoria from the first season, who (and many other HIMYM fans would agree) certainly has been one of the best — if not the best — relationships for Ted throughout the series.

I’m not really sure what this means. Certainly, she can’t be the mother, or else we would have known that in the first season. And she was in Germany around the same time as the yellow umbrella (right?). And I doubt she was in the economics class that Ted accidentally started teaching when he became a teacher. Plus, there’s that little thing where she should probably HATE him for how he treated her while they were together long distance. In fact, I can’t wait to see what happens next. That furor better be prominent, because while years have passed, she should certainly still be angry.

Beyond that, though, I am a little disappointed with the episodes. They just felt like they were…trying too hard. Especially with Marshall. Between these two episodes, I almost thought the writers were punishing him for being the first to say the eighth season would be his last because they really made him idiotic. Between the drunkenness at the wedding (why would they all be invited to Punchy’s wedding, by the way?) and the streaking in the second episode, it all just really didn’t feel like Marshall. And they were trying way way too hard to be funny, which really came across as less than funny.

And what was with that dance number between Barney and Robin? It kind-of came out of nowhere. I thought we’d find out that this was his next play that he was testing out at the wedding: showing that you can sweep one girl off their feet through dance and then turning to some other hottie and trying to sleep with her. Instead, the moment was interrupted by Norah’s call (I’ll get to that). It just felt a little forced. Entertaining, sure, but I just didn’t know why it was there.

Let’s move on to Norah. I’m at a disadvantage because I don’t quite remember what happened with him and Norah. But anyway, the diner scene was cute, and while I did start to wonder why he was spilling all his lies to her, it did make a lot more sense to find out that he was noting that she could have left the entire time…but she didn’t.

But back to the wedding. Can I mention one more instance of their trying too hard? (Of course, I can. It’s my blog.) Ted’s toasts. I don’t remember him every referencing other weddings, so his toasts was a little strange. And ultimately, it wasn’t all the funny. But what I did enjoy was the fact that it was a Cleveland Browns-themed wedding. That was fantastic.

If only they had the stadium mustard.

Anyway, while it wasn’t the strongest start of the season, I am looking forward to seeing how it develops. What about you?

5 thoughts on “HIMYM: Trying Too Hard, but That Ending…

  1. I am on the same page.
    And I have a question: do you think they are switching from the pub to the diner to meet up? Could it be linked to Lily’s pregnancy?
    Very interested to know your opinion about this 🙂

  2. I didn’t even think of that! I mean, I did ask myself, “Why are they at the diner,” after the gang was there and Barney popped up from the other booth from his sleep. I mainly thought that because I thought it rather coincidental that they were all there at the same time at this ONE, special diner.

    But you’re probably right! It’d be weird to have Lily in the bar the whole time when she couldn’t drink, especially after Marshall kept claiming he was going to quit drinking. They must be transitioning the location. Good call!

  3. Pingback: HIMYM: We Built Chip City… | Raked

Leave a comment