Worried about ‘Scrubs’ and ‘Better Off Ted’?

If you’re anything like me, you were all ready to nestle into the couch and watch a new episode of Scrubs this week. Ok, maybe you don’t nestle. Maybe you were going to plop down in your leather recliner and watch Scrubs this week. Either way, you were probably very disappointed.

Why? Well, the final two episodes of Scrubs have been moved once again. This time, to March 10 and March 17. Two episodes. Two 30-minute chunks of time that ABC can’t seem to make room for.

And, if you’re anything like me, you’re already wondering if Scrubs will be picked up next season. For that matter, what about Better Off Ted?

Well, they’re both on the bubble, and are currently in “burn-off” mode, where all ABC’s trying to do is burn off the episodes. But at least Scrubs has a burnoff date, even if it does keep moving around. Better Off Ted isn’t even on the schedule yet with its final two episodes.

Now, I have to say that part of me is an optimist. A rather sarcastic optimist, but I am hoping that this move for Scrubs is to allow the show one last chance (well, two last chances) to gain viewership and to prove that it’s worth being renewed. I mean, if they showed it this week, wouldn’t it have lost viewers to the Olympics? Quite possibly.

So that’s my glass-half-full hope. But sadly, there’s worse news.

It’s no surprise that Sarah Chalke is finding other work. I mean, she’s not a regular on Scrubs anymore. But today we just discovered that Donald Faison–Turk–has signed on to a new pilot. Now, while the new cast really does focus on the newbies, Turk is still a main character. Would we have a Turk-less Scrubs? Or a Scrub-less Faison?

And it’s not just Scrubs. It looks like one of the leading ladies on Better Off Ted is looking for greener pastures. Andrea Anders, who plays Linda, has just signed on for Mr. Sunshine, another upcoming comedy for ABC. I’m not the biggest fan of hers (sorry, but Joey was just a wrong choice), but somehow seeing main characters signing up for other projects really isn’t what you want to see if you’re hoping for renewal.

But they are ABC shows, and as we’ve seen with other castmates–say, Christa Miller, who is on Cougar Town but also appeared in Scrubs as a guest star this season–there’s always an opportunity to do both. But for some reason, my optimism is wavering…

So if you like the shows and want them to stick, you better watch them when they return. And it couldn’t hurt to let ABC know you’re a fan. After all, a last ditch effort is better than no effort at all.

UPDATE: Well, it looks like Anders isn’t the only one leaving the office. Ted himself, Jay Harrington, just signed on for a pilot with NBC. Looks like Better Off Ted is probably dead. Whether we’re better off, we’ll never know.

4 thoughts on “Worried about ‘Scrubs’ and ‘Better Off Ted’?

  1. I really like Better Off Ted, but only ever watch it online because I can never remember when it’s on. So it’s too bad that it’s probably going away.

  2. No!! I love better off ted. Its one of my new favorite shows. I think ted and linda were both cast great and work well, though the real star is porche derossi.

  3. They’ve been really crappy with the schedules of both shows. I would sit down to watch a new episode, only to discover I’d missed it in the previous hour or I have another hour until it came on. That’s how I missed the last two episodes of Scrubs. But I’d say Better Off Ted did get better this season. I wasn’t too thrilled with it last season.

  4. Damn. Better Off Ted was my must-watch show this year. Well, it at least took that spot once Dollhouse was cancelled.

    And for anyone needing some bizarre office comedies to fill the hole that will be left by Ted, go hunt down either Andy Richter Controls the Universe or NewsRadio on DVD. Both are worthy purchases.

Leave a comment