Recap Review: Tin Man – Off to the O.Z.

TIN MAN: Part 1, “Into the Storm”

Yes, I’m finally watching Tin Man. I really never knew about it when it first premiered, but once I got into Alice, that’s all anyone wanted me to see. And so far, I’m enjoying it.

It’s quite a bit darker than Alice, though, I must say. We’ve got the ex-con that is missing his brain, a lion who almost got digested in a tree, and the Tin Man, who is an ex-cop who’s family was killed in front of him and sealed in a box for years and years.

Not the best situation to find yourself in.

Plus, the cyborgy robot guys were just creepy. And the witch–or, the sorceress in this case–is quite frightening herself, seeing as she basically sucks the life out of you.

Alice had its scary dark moments, but we’re certainly getting a different kind of darkness here.

Let’s see, since I’m watching this part by part, I have the vulnerability of not knowing what happens when some of you might already know. But so far we’ve assembled the troops for the most part. We’ve got the scarecrow, the lion, our fearless female leader, and of course, the Tin Man. But no Toto yet (and I assume we get him, what with his being on the cover art). We’ve even got the wizard, so where do we go from here?

Clearly, we’ve got to defeat the sorceress–aka, DG’s sister–and save DG’s parents (by the way, I like that the sorceress can take life from another, but DG’s mother can put it back in; I wonder what DG can do). We have to find the emerald before all of that. Hmmm.

I must say, I’m impressed with our leads. Of course, I’m a Zooey Deschanel fan, but I’m surprised how much I’m liking Neal McDonough. I wasn’t as much of a fan of his when he was in Desperate Housewives, but now I’m seeing that perhaps it was the material handed to him on that show and not his acting. I’m intrigued to see how he finds his “heart”–though for some reason, I just don’t see his ending as a happy one. Will he make it through the series?

I’m a little about Glitch, though. It’s not that I don’t like the actor; he’s fine. The character might bug me a bit. He already does when he’s glitching, and fortunately, he was told to keep his mouth shut by our Tin Man, so that avoids any further annoyance, but there is that chance…

Anyway, it’s a strong beginning to something I’m anxious to watch more of. Too bad I can’t tonight! Who would have thought that a Monday during the Olympics would give me so much new TV?

Well, another time this week, I suppose. After all, we must find out what happens to DG now that she’s captured by Azkadellia.

Oh, and the flying monkeys? Gross.

2 thoughts on “Recap Review: Tin Man – Off to the O.Z.

  1. Glee! Okay, now that i’ve got that out of my system.

    I’m a Zooey Deschanel fan, but my second time through I felt her never-changing deadpan delivery could be a bit much at times. Perhaps it was 1.5 hours of her for three nights in a row. (I don’t know what part this is at exactly, but watch for DG to “break the ice” to get to a castle door. It’s pathetic and hilarious. If ever there were a reason for “you hammer like a girl” stereotypes……)

    I enjoy Toto, but I think he shows up only in the third installment.

  2. Yep, saw the ice door. That was rather funny. Especially when you think about three men staring at her.

    Meanwhile, I was just kinda thinking how brazen this small-town girl is. It didn’t phase her that her parents threw her into a tornado. She really wasn’t all TOO shocked–at least not as shocked as I would be–to find out her parents are not her parents and that they’re robots (she sure shifted to, “I’ve got to save my mom” mode pretty quickly). And she’s quite happy to run into danger when necessary, saving the hologram Tin Man and saving the lion.

    But you know, I still like her. 🙂 I’ll let you know if the deadpan gets to me, though.

Leave a comment