Two new shows, one newer than the other

GARY UNMARRIED: 1.13 “Gary Moves Back In”
LIE TO ME: 1.01 “Pilot”

On Wednesday, I introduced myself to two new shows–well, shows new to me. One was legitmately new, the pilot episode of Lie to Me. I was intrigued by this one for two main reasons: 1) Kelli Williams of The Practice fame is in it, and 2) the guest star for the first episode was Jake Thomas, who played Matt in Lizzie McGuire.

Ok, let’s be honest. I really just watched it for Jake Thomas. It cracks me up that he grew up to be tall.

Anyway, it was decent. It was a cop show, except the main characters were hired out, not cops. They were trying to figure out who murdered someone. The characters each had their own quirks–eating junk food or only telling the blunt truth–so it leads to some interesting one-liners. Plus, you get to hear about people lie, so that’s interesting.

But in the end, it was basically a cop show where the characters had quirks and the only defining feature was that you could find out how you knew someone was lying.

It was ok. I just wonder if they’re going to run out of info about lying after the first few episodes and if it will just become another cop show with a cool set. I probably won’t watch it again unless I’m bored, but some people really love their cop shows, so it wouldn’t surprise me if it stuck around.

The other show I caught on Wednesday was Gary Unmarried, which has been around since the fall and I’ve just never seen it. And to be honest, it was funny. Parts were, anyway.

I think the shining star of the series is the son. Honestly, the lines and jokes this kid has far outshine anything else in the series, and he does compliment Jay Mohr. If they could surround this show with the relationship between the two, I think it’d be fantastic.

Unfortunately, you can’t have a bachelor dad without an ex-wife. The relationship between Gary and his ex, though, was predictable and cliche. I didn’t see any freshness there. I think that’s why I’ve never watched the show before, honestly. All I saw from commercials was his interaction with his ex-wife, which just aren’t that stand-out.

But at least she’s likable, unless ex-wives of other series (Two and a Half Men, anyone?). If I end up bored on Wednesday again, I can see myself flipping this on while reading a book or something, so it’d passed the background no ise test. I’ll let you know if becomes a habit. But it’s decent and worth a watch if you want a comedy on Wednesday night!

Leave a comment