My Super-late, Super-fast Thoughts on Supergirl Season 1

image

When nothing is new on TV, I binge. Last week I decided to check out the first season of Supergirl. 

I watched the whole season in a week. I was almost as fast as a speeding bullet, except that I had to do wild and crazy things like, take care of my child, eat, sleep, and work.

Why Supergirl? Well, I was intrigued about its story. Not the show’s story arc, but the series’ move from CBS to the CW. I knew very little about how the show was. I heard vaguely that the show got better over the course of the series and that the crossover episode with The Flash was great, but not much more. I remembered seeing promos before it premiered and being skeptical of it (a goofy, awkward girl who has magic powers and works for Ally McBeal?). After all, it seemed a little silly for CBS.

But then again, it’s not on CBS anymore. So when I started watching the series, I didn’t wear a CBS hat. I wore a CW one.  And given that I’ve been a big fan of CW shows over the last few years–One Tree Hill, Gilmore Girls, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, and Supernatural, just to name a few–I have certain expectations of how CW shows will be.

Supergirl was made for the CW.

It has the lighthearted nature of a CW show, balancing life’s-and-death events with a good level of adorableness and humor. It, of course, has its very own love triangle (a staple of many shows, but especially those on the CW). The cast itself seems like it’s a better fit for the CW (Cat Grant says so herself), and even the brightly colored scenes and sets remind me of a show targeted at a different audience than that of CBS.

So I guess I’m saying the move was a smart one. But knowing that move was happening did color my viewing of the show, since if I had a different network experience in mind, I may have considered it an unsuccessful series.

But instead, I like it! Sure, there are some rocky parts. The big bad villain of the series took a bit too long to set up, in part because of Astra. I liked the character, but if they had just focused on Non, it would’ve been much stronger. There was certain cheese factor moments (a certain someone flying a spaceship in the season finale, for example). While I love Italia Ricci, the development of Banshee seemed a bit too quick–and over too quickly. And don’t even get me started on Indigo’s look.

But despite some flaws, I was sucked in rather quickly. Kara wasn’t nearly as awkward and clumsy as the original promo made her out to be. If fact, she’s adorable–especially in the crossover episode–and her positive spirit is magnetizing. (I’m pretty sure Melissa Benoist got the gig because her teeth are so perfect they’ve got to be superhuman.) Her sidekicks are entertaining (I’m totally shipping Kara and Winn, by the way; in fact, I have a hard time seeing the chemistry between her and James).

And even Cat Grant has a likable quality, despite her Devil Wears Prada demeanor. In fact, I give the show kudos for emphasizing the struggle she had getting to where she is in her career, given that she’s a woman in the workplace. “You can have it all…just not all at once,” she said. I was happy to see somedepth of character, considering that roles like this usually fall flat.

Now one disclaimer: I know little about the DC universe  my knowledge of Super-characters comes from Smallville and Lois and Clark, so if there are flaws in that domain, I’m sorry, I can’t speak to them. But as for an enjoyable experience, as a whole, the season delivers. Now, by bingeing, I was able to gloss over weak episodes, which may means that when I tune in this fall (and I will) I may end up a little pickier. But for now, I was happy to spend a week with some new characters and new stories, and I’m looking forward to see more.

*Photo by CBS

One thought on “My Super-late, Super-fast Thoughts on Supergirl Season 1

  1. I am working my way through the series now on netflix. I too heard the same things going in and find the show as a whole entertaining. The entire show screams to be on the CW. Being a fan of Flash and Arrow, both on the CW, i dont know why it didnt start there in the first place. Calista Flockhart as Cat Grant is THE BEST part of the show. I dont know if its the acting or the writing, but she nails it every time being both apathetic and hard, but sympathetic and secretly concerned for Kara. I am familiar with the DC universe and how Supergirl fits in and there are a lot of deviation, but what can you expect? Its fine. Its a CW show.

Leave a Reply

