Harley Keiner meets “Girl Meets World”

girl-meets-world - the forgotton

As you know, I’m a Boy Meets World fan. And I’ve been keeping tabs on Girl Meets World (meaning I’ve been watching every episode each time they pop up on my season pass TiVo recording) just to see some of our old favorites reappear. I’ve already spotted Minkus, who is character Farkle’s father (yes, his name is Farkle Minkus), and just recently I saw another BMW face: Harley Keiner.

I must confess, I didn’t immediately recognize Harley. For one, he was going by Harvey (there is one episode when Cory goes out on a date with TK, Harley’s sister, and she lets the cat out of the bag that his name was actually Harvey). Second, he’s grown up a lot, and it takes a minute for you to recognize him. I did a double-take at the dimples. Then I recognized a certain tone of voice with a familiar, “How you doin’, boys I own?” By then, I was sure I was right, only to discover that “Harley” was written on his janitor’s uniform the whole time.

It was kind-of an exciting addition. I certainly wasn’t expecting it. My eye was focused more on Ms. Thompson, the cafeteria lady, than the janitor. But I thoroughly enjoyed seeing him. According to E! Online, this won’t be Keiner’s — er, I mean, Danny McNulty’s — only appearance on the series, so I’m excited to see more (and check out his Twitter account for a few more pics). My only complaint was that we didn’t get to see more recognition or callbacks from Cory about this memorable guy. After all, he was the one who bullied him throughout his young high school years.

And while Harley himself was a callback of BMW years, the storyline was even more so. While wrapped up in a Great Depression history lesson, we were asked to remember the Forgotten, those people who do so much and you forget about. It reminded me of Cory’s own remembrance of the cafeteria lady of his youth, who passed away. That particular lunch lady got her own wake, as each student took a rose from their cafeteria tray and put it on her station. Then there was the librarian who was being forced out of the school, that they signed the petition for. Both women took a special interest in their kids, if I recall, and Cory made sure they weren’t forgotten (with the help of Topanga, of course).

There are still larger characters I’m waiting to appear — Sean, Eric, Cory’s parents, and perhaps we’ll get another appearance by Feeny. That’s all if Feeny is still alive. I maintain my theory that the iconic teacher, principal, and professor may have passed on, despite his appearance on “Stay in School” posters. But there was still something about that first appearance in the pilot that was mildly haunting and sentimental. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

*Photo by Disney Channel/Kelsey McNeal

One thought on “Harley Keiner meets “Girl Meets World”

  1. Pingback: The 2014 Awards: The Best, Worst, and In Between on TV | Raked

Leave a Reply

