Gotham: The Pilot

gotham-poster-big

GOTHAM: 1.01 “The Pilot”

It’s premiere time! And believe it or not, I’ve actually found a show that I’m interested in and want to watch again. That show? FOX’s Gotham.

It’s actually no surprise that I was impressed with this pilot. The promos alone revealed great quality, and I’m a huge fan of Ben McKenzie (remember Southland? Impressed then, impressed now).

McKenzie shined again in this show, but he was supported by a great cast of characters, both familiar and new from the Batman mythology. While I hesitated, worried that I would only see Donal Logue as Sean Finnerty from Grounded for Life instead of Harvey Bullock (clearly, I’m behind on some of his more recent roles, but Grounded is so vastly different from Gotham that it made an impression), I was pleased to see that within minutes I was seeing a brand-new face and character.

I also quickly found myself drawn in my Fish and her gang of thugs, as well as the rest of the building story arc. I was skeptical that we’d really find out the Wayne killer in the first episode — in fact, if we did, I’d be disappointed. And I must say that the scene where the Waynes were slain was moving and effective, a truly tragic and attention-grabbing beginning for the series.

That being said, I do wonder where we go from here. Can we really continue to have Bruce and Alfred appear in every episode? We’ve introduced such future characters of Ivy, the Riddler, and Catwoman, but what do you do with them beyond that? When the series was first introduced, though, I wondered the same thing. How do you make something as iconic as Gotham work without just making it another procedural? Are we just waiting for villains to become villains? Are we just waiting for Bruce to become Batman?

I hope not. And honestly, with this beginning, I find myself more enthralled with the city itself than those side characters and future villains. Sure, I’m interested to see how Edward Nygma, in particular, turns from a helpful friend of the fuzz to a enigmatic Riddler, but that can take time. In fact, I must say that Gotham the city became its own character with its fully developed city scapes, buildings, and sets, and I want to see that develop around the show (and Gordon within it) more than anything else.

My main complaint? The Penguin. Not only was his iconic walk not established before the “penguin” nickname was referenced, but I would have much preferred a few episodes before he became a true villain. Slitting a throat for a sandwich at the end suddenly became out of character. We hadn’t yet seen him as a threat, merely a wannabe weasel, so I would’ve wanted to see that edge develop a little more slowly, seen him as a victim of his life of crime gone wrong, seen him react to the fact that he lost everything as he tried to climb the ranks to overthrow Fish.

Yes, a slower development of such a psychological mastermind would’ve had a better treatment. But honestly, there’s a lot more for the Penguin to do and many more episodes to go. Pilots always have some sort of weakness. And there was just too much good going for it for me to really get bogged down by one character.

After all, with the weight of Batman on its shoulders, I’m impressed its standing so tall already. Let’s hope it can handle the pressure.

6 thoughts on “Gotham: The Pilot

  1. This first episode was encouraging. I hope it continues to be good, and that it doesn’t stick too closely to the mythology and canon. A little variation DBS surprise would be a good thing.

  2. I enjoyed it too, and I agree about the Penguin. I could have done without Jada Pinkett Smith though. She just didn’t jive w/ the show in my opinion.

  3. Pingback: Gotham: Selina Kyle | Raked

  4. I was very impressed with the pilot too, especially since it does have the weight of Batman on its shoulders, as you said. I agree with what you said about the Penguin too; I was shocked, not in a good way, when he slit that man’s throat. It was all too fast.
    On the topic of Donal Logue, you should check on Sons of Anarchy; he doesn’t appear until one of the later seasons but his character is terrifyingly evil. It’s a truly great show, and very different from Grounded for Life!

  5. You know, I’ve heard that Logue has done some good stuff since Grounded (Terriers is another one people have raved about him in>, so in that sense, I’m just out of the loop. I’ve heard a lot of great things about SOA. I’ll have to check it out!

  6. Pingback: Marry Me: The Pilot | Raked

Leave a Reply

