Early Thoughts on ‘The Lottery’

Lifetime’s new series The Lottery premieres tonight at 10/9c. For some reason, weird futuristic scenarios have always been interesting to me. Here we’re a mere eleven years into the future, only to discover that no one has had children in the past six years. It’s a full-on fertility crisis, and only one person so far has found answer: One scientist has fertilized 100 embryos. And now the government needs to decide what to do with them.

It’s an interesting premise. And in watching the screener, I enjoyed it. They’ve done a commendable job making interesting characters within the first episode. Pilots can easily be weak episodes for series, in balancing introducing the plot, back story, and characters all at once. The Lottery seems to have done a good job at it.

That being said, I don’t know how a series like this could be sustainable. There is a fight for the eggs, certainly. And a bit of a mystery as to whether certain people have good intentions when they want them. So I am interested in hearing more.

And while I like the characters (in particular, and adorable little six-year-old boy), I just don’t see how this show can remain a series. A mini-series, sure. But a multi-seasoned television show? I just don’t know.

I mean, think about it. Once the embryos are divvied up, what’s next? We watch them until they’re born? We make more embryos? Or will we play the game of taking a very very long time divvying them up, or maybe they get stolen? Or maybe there’s a risk that they may not survive before they’re divvied?

Should I say divvied once more?

Basically, that’s the key here. How do you make a series like this last? I suppose the fertility situation could get progressively better or worse, but if we’re looking at 100 embryos — once you’ve got those settled, what more can you do? It’s a finite number that can’t last too long.

So I suppose I have to watch a little more to see where it’s headed. I am curious. It’s not the kind of show I’d expect to see on Lifetime. But I’m not sure what hope I have for the series. If I had to pick, this is one of those shows I would have put a defined number of episodes for, instead of an open-ended series.

Leave a Reply

