What’s On Tonight: The Drop Dead Diva Finale

Lifetime, Drop Dead Diva, BPG

We’re only a few hours away from the end of Drop Dead Diva. And I have to admit, I don’t know what’s going to happen.

It’s funny. You’d think that’d be the case for most series finales. And while you may not know exactly what’s going to happen in a given series finale, you might generally have a sense. For example, you kinda knew where Rory was headed in the series finale of Gilmore Girls, and you could guess that they’d try to wrap things up for Luke and Lorelai. At the end of Buffy and Angel, you knew that our favorite characters were headed toward one hell of a battle (pardon the puns), and you could generally guess that the world wouldn’t end (though in retrospect, I suppose Joss Whedon has made that choice before).

But with Drop Dead Diva, I really don’t know what’s going to happen. I imagine something uplifting (it is Drop Dead Diva, after all). I bet that Stacy will have her babies. I bet that Ian and Jane are going to end up together in some way. But I don’t know where Jane’s going to go in regards to her job or the law firm. I don’t know what Ian’s going to do in the future. Really, there just seems to be a lot to be covered in one hour that’s left. My guess is that a lot is going to be left to the imagination.

It’s been an interesting season, though. While I wasn’t too surprised what happened with Grayson (the moment he was shot, I was sure he’d be killed and brought back in one way or another), I suppose they had to do something to make their relationship interesting after they got together. (The beginning of the season, by the way, was a little annoying in regards to the will-they-won’t-they factor after Grayson found out about Jane/Deb. I got very tired of Grayson’s intense earnest face.)

What I’ve really enjoyed, though, was the character development of the side characters. Stacy and Owen have been adorable. Paul has finally become an actual person, which is especially nice since I wasn’t sold on him last season. But I’ve been especially in love with Kim’s development. You always hear that your life changes after having a baby (and hey, as a new mom, I can say that’s true), and it’d been amazing to see the hard-as-nails Kim become a kind, compassionate person now that she’s a mother. I wish we saw that more in television shows. And I’m glad we’re going to be left with an uplifting note with Kim, after so many years in a love-hate relationship with her (fortunately, I tended to fall on the “love” side of the equation, even if she did tick me off from time to time).

Anyway, it looks like we’ve got a lot to discover in tonight’s series finale. And I’m sure I’m not the only one that will miss Jane, Deb, and the team after it’s gone. I can’t complain too much; the show was already given a second life after being cancelled once — we’re already living on borrowed time. Deb and Grayson would be pleased.

Leave a Reply

