My Top 5 ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Episodes Ever

how_i_met_your_mother_table_group_a_l

It’s been years in the making. Tonight, we finally see how Ted met the mother on How I Met Your Mother. I have my own theories on how this happened, and I guess we’ll find out if I’m right, wrong, or just way off. But the heck with what’s going to happen tonight. Let’s take a moment to look back on some of my favorite episode of a show that, while it’s had some rocky times, has had some of the freshest moments in sitcom history in recent years.

I’ve decided to share my top five episodes from HIMYM. I’m not saying these are the best there ever were. I’m sure I’m missing some very iconic moments (like a certain musical number) and very special episodes (like “Bad News”), but these are the five episodes that, when I see them on TV, I will stop what I’m doing and watch — no matter what. Even in the saddest of moments (like the third option below), these episodes make me happy. So here goes.

My top five HIMYM episodes (in no particular order) are…

Slap Bet. You may argue that two beavers are better than one. You may be sitting around building sandcastles in the sand. But this first episode featuring a super special pop icon is the one that I can never forget. Someone give me some Robin Sparkles. To me, this was one of those episodes that really showed what the series was capable of. It gave us a slap bet that carried through the rest of the series, all up until the moment Barney was standing at the alter. But most of all, it gave us this song and music video, which still makes me laugh to this day.

PS – I love you, Robin.

Subway Wars. I’m not what it is about this episode, but for some reason, I find it hilarious. Robin is trying to prove herself as a “real New Yorker.” What ensues is a crazy race, where all five claim they know the fastest way across town: bus, subway, taxi, on foot, or…well…Barney’s solution. Somehow, the combination of an interactive map, music, and comical situations come together for a fantastic episode.

Symphony of Illumination. It is at this moment that I’m realizing that many of my favorite episodes are Robin-centric. That’s not on purpose (and I’d argue that “Subway Wars” focuses on all five characters). Nonetheless, I have to give a major shoutout (MAJOR SHOUTOUT) to “Symphony of Illumination.” While this episode got a lot of mixed reactions, it turned the series on its head by giving us one episode narrated by someone else: Robin. As Robin and Barney work through a pregnancy scare, Robin discovers that she actually can never have children. Keeping it to herself, the episode culminates in a beautiful — and legendary — light show, set up by Ted.

HIMYM-Symph

Three Days of Snow. An epic snowstorm. Three distinct stories. All fantastic. But, of course, what gets me the most in the ending. While I love Barney and Ted going all Cocktail, seeing Marshall show up, listing what he ate for lunch, to prove his love to Lily with a full marching band at the airport is just beautiful. I love it.

Something Borrowed. This episode is officially my favorite episode of the series, so, despite my not being able to find a suitable video, I had to share it. It’s the day of Lily and Marshall’s wedding, and everything is going wrong — not that it was the wedding they planned anyway. But amidst all the chaos is Lily’s ex-boyfriend, a shirtless groomsman, a harp player in labor, and, oh, Marshall’s shaved head. A short walk and a hat later, Lily and Marshall are exchanging vows in a small, intimate ceremony in the park with an acoustic guitar. The wedding they always wanted.

How_I_Met_Your_Mother_-_Matrimonio_Marshall-Lily

Of course, there are so many other episodes and scenes I wish I could mention. Let me know what your favorites have been in the comments. But these are the five episodes I can’t miss whenever I see them, so they top my list.

And tonight? Who knows. Maybe one of these episode will get knocked off for our finale. Either way, I’m going to be sad to say good-bye to this series.

One thought on “My Top 5 ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Episodes Ever

  1. My personal favorites either have to do with HIMYM’s clever use of flashbacks or with Ted’s novel romaticism. My fav episodes in no particular order:

    The Pineapple Incident – The ep that got me watching. Watching Ted & co. put his night back together was just hilarious.

    Drumroll, Please – Ted meets Victoria. They attempt to create the perfect evening by keeping reality out of the romance. No full name exchanging, etc. A novel HIMYM idea. And it was fun watching Ted explain how perfect his night was only to realize what an idiot he’d been..

    The Platinum Rule – It trumps the golden rule. “Never ever, ever LOVE thy neighbor.” An excellent use of HIMYM flashbacks with a story being told with a story being told within a story.

    Ten Sessions – The 2 minute date. Enough said. Ted’s best moment in the series, in my opinion. Better then the rain dance. Better than the blue horn. (And a somehow surprisingly non-annoying guest appearance by Britney Spears.)

    Double Date – Just another good example of HIMYM flashbacks. The ending is also another example of Ted’s romantic idealism.

    Also, the hands down worst ep of HIMYM: Slapsgiving 2. Chris Elliot just does not mix well with this show. He tried too hard to be funny and just never actually ever managed to be. Everytime he appeared in an episode I groaned, and. Slapsgiving 2 was the beginning of that.

Leave a Reply

