The Vampire Diaries: For Whom the Bell Tolls

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: 5.04 “For Whom the Bell Tolls”

Man, if TVD charged for every bucket of tears I cry for this series, they’d have a million dollars. Except that I don’t have a million dollars, so they’d just bankrupt me.

I have no idea how, but this show does such a fantastic job with pulling every possible emotion out of you. I just spent ten minutes crying over Bonnie, a fictional character — who isn’t even leaving the show! (At least, not to my knowledge.) I mean, think about it. She’s still around. She’s still interacting with everyone else. And yet, I just mourned her. Heck, I started crying harder when Tyler showed up. I don’t even like Tyler.

Somehow, TVD can pull it off. It’s like the time I spent half an episode crying over Alaric because he was going to die…only to not die. And then, I cried when he died later. And then I cried again when he came back as a ghost to listen to Damon’s lament! Three episodes of crying; one man. Seriously, how do they do it?

I really, truly enjoyed this episode. And I’m going to say it: I even enjoyed Stefan (well, for the most part). While I was skeptical of Stefan’s amnesia when they introduced it, I was so happy to see a brand-new Stefan in this episode. He wasn’t the boring, lame Stefan that I can only assume some fans must like. And he wasn’t the trying-too-hard Ripper Stefan that never impressed me. He was just a new dude. And I liked where it was going.

And yeah yeah, it got a little ruined when the whole Elena love triangle got in the way (I was hoping they’d stretch that out so it wouldn’t get in the way quite yet, and you had to wonder whether Elena was starting to fall for this new Stefan — oh well). But overall, it was interesting.

Also interesting — Matt. I find the gypsy storyline a little confusing, true. But I think Zach Roerig is doing a brilliant job playing the traveler. He truly is coming across as a brand-new person. Voice. Facial expressions. Mannerisms. I was rather creeped out by the guy on the video, and yet it’s the same actor we all know and love. Kudos!

Also top notch? Damon. Ian Somerhalder did a fantastic job in this episode, particularly in his scene with Steven McQueen, when Jeremy confesses that Bonnie is dead. The range of emotions that went across Damon’s face was so great, and ending it in the comforting embrace was just so unexpected yet powerful. I just think it was well done.

No clue what’s going to happen next, and at this point, I’m fine with dwelling on what we just saw in this episode for a while. As for Jesse and Professor Vampire-Maker, well, I’m not quite invested in that yet. Why would I be? All my favorite characters just showed me why they’re my favorites again (and even dud Stefan impressed). But hey, I’ll get there.

In the meantime, can someone please hand me a tissue?

2 thoughts on “The Vampire Diaries: For Whom the Bell Tolls

  1. The ending was unbelievable! Made me cry! I loved the entire last scene with Bonnie and was actually touched to see Tyler show up! And I totally agree with you about Matt. The actor is doing a great job playing this new role. I’m excited to see where it leads. I also liked how they reestablished the relationship between Caroline and Stefan. I’ve always loved their friendship and am glad they are continuing with that with Stefan’s amnesia. I’m also not invested in the professor storyline yet…it seems a little too similar to last year with the professor and his quest to find Silas.

  2. Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo..I just started watching this show and finally made it ti season 5. I’m a guy and I experienced leaky face syndrome. Great Episode but leave my face alone….

Leave a Reply

