The Vampire Diaries: True Lies

tvdstefan

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: 5.02 “True Lies”

I quite enjoyed this episode until… Bah!!!! The ending RUINED this episode for me.

Let’s step back. You all know that I’m not a Stefan fan. I find him boring. I find him and Elena boring. And even when he’s evil, I find him boring and lacking in entertainment value. Too harsh? Possibly. But that’s how I feel.

Two seasons ago, we got “evil” Stefan, who gave up his humanity and started following Klaus. Of course, what made this storyline worse was seeing Elena pine and whine over a missing Stefan. Then, at the end of last season, we saw that Silas actually looks like Stefan, so here we go again: an evil version of Stefan. The show hasn’t taken the direction I thought it would, and sure, I guess he’s ok, but he’s nothing special. They could do better.

And now, with the end of this episode, we’re back with ANOTHER evil Stefan. Apparently, somehow, he got out of his water coffin (that’s a good description for it) and ate some dude. So we’ve got blood-lusty Stefan all over again. Who I still find boring! Can’t they find anything else to do with him? Bahhhhh.

The most interesting part of this episode was Matt and Bonnie, frankly. Bonnie’s mysterious disappearance is finally being noticed. And with Matt’s death, he discovered — albeit briefly — that she’s dead. I love how he found out. We never knew the mystery of how the ring worked and why it took someone longer and longer to wake up after being killed, and now we do. Plus, it was the first interaction anyone’s gotten to have with Bonnie that involved touch. And of top of that, it’s one of the few scenes ever that we’ve gotten with only Bonnie and Matt, despite their knowing each other for years. It was just really well done.

Also of interest: the torture scene between Damon and Elena. What could make their relationship hotter? A murderous Elena (take note, Paul Wesley, Nina Dobrev knows how to do evil right) versus a shirtless, pained Damon? Heck yeah. And Caroline’s response to it was classic.

But what I’m still most intrigued about is the gypsy. What is their agenda? And why Matt? Because he’s one of the only humans left? Thanks to Katherine, he’s not the ONLY human left. And speaking of Katherine, why is she so valuable? I thought it was just Silas’ need for revenge, but I think there’s something bigger at work here. She must be important.

The only part I could care little about is the college mystery death. I really don’t know what’s going on there, and I haven’t been tantalized enough to really want to follow it yet. But I certainly don’t trust Caroline’s new beau, Jesse. There’s something about him that makes me hesitate. Perhaps that’s just too easy, considering the suspicious overtones in his conversation with Elena…holding a stake. If he is evil, it’s almost a disappointment in that case. So if he’s good, it’ll be a great twist. But then again…

I could go back and forth on this one for a while. But right now, I don’t trust him.

One thought on “The Vampire Diaries: True Lies

  1. My favorite part of this episode might have been the torture scene with Elena and Damon…hahaha. And Caroline’s reaction was hilarious!

    But I totally agree with you about Stefan. He isn’t one of my favorites and I think it’s a recycled storyline if he is “bad” again. Give us something new!

    It definitely was a touching scene with Bonnie and Matt. I feel like they will come up with some storyline to bring her back to life…they always seem to do something like that!

    As a side note, Nina Dobrev does such a good job with the role of Katherine. I honestly forget it is the same actress that plays Elena.

Leave a Reply

