HIMYM: Bad Crazy

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER: 8.16 “Bad Crazy”

What an episode. It occurs to me that while I’ve been thinking about this episode for two days, I really don’t know what to say about it. It felt like your typical filler episode — the episode you film just because you need to fill up 22 episodes in a season and its sole purpose is to give you a little teaser of what the writers think will be a better episode to come (namely, whatever makes Ted’s new galpal light something on fire, leaving them all on the curb staring at the ashes).

I think you all know that I care little about the episodes that revolve around Ted’s dating someone that is not the mother. The only relief here is that we were told that Jeanette is officially the last person Ted dates before the mother. Huzzah. But seeing as we still have a season and a half until the end of the series, who knows how long we’ll have to sit through this one. Don’t get me wrong; I don’t mind the character of Jeaneatte. She seems caricaturish and ridiculous to me, so I can’t take her seriously. But she’s no Zoey. And that’s a bright side, right?

Remember the days of Stella? When we really didn’t know if she was going to be the mother because the show was precariously waiting to be canceled at a moment’s notice? I miss that.

Anyway, the highlight of the episode here was not with Ted, but with Robin, which is strange, since she really was handed a weak storyline herself. Because I know Robin’s aversion to kids, I can see how she has never held Marvin for eight months. That being said, let’s be realistic here: Would that ever really happen? Sadly, I read the description of the episode before watching it, so it spoiled me by telling me that Robin did eventually hold Marvin and she wouldn’t be able to let him go, and I was wondering throughout my watching when that would happen. It kinda took away some of the sentimentality at the end of the episode. That being said, while I’m not a fan of Mike Tyson (gee, he’s making the rounds as a guest star, isn’t he?), I did enjoy that little spin on Robin’s tale.

Overall, though, the episode didn’t do much for me. It’s not one that I’m going to go back to and remember, recall, reminisce, and in the end, rewatch. It was just there for 30 minutes of enjoyment or distraction (depending on your tastes), and then it was done.

Much like this review…as it turns out.

Leave a Reply

