HIMYM: The Last Page

himym proposal

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER: 8.11-12 “The Final Page, Parts 1 and 2”

Oh, please treat this show right. Let HIMYM end after this season. It’s been debated, and I really want it done at the end of season eight. Not because I didn’t like last night’s episodes. But because I loved them.

I’ve said it before: No matter how rocky some of the middle episodes of HIMYM are, when they do big moments, they do them right. Last night’s final scenes were no exception.

First, let me say this: In case you didn’t catch it, Robin was right. Barney really was playing with her the whole time. It was just some ploy. I thought he had turned a new leaf — and he did — but not in the way we thought.

Second, I saw this coming. Not before last night’s hour-long episode, but somewhere in the middle. As soon as I knew Robin was headed to the roof, I knew that proposal would be for her, not Patrice. Come on, you can’t waste that gorgeous dress on Ted, right?

And while Robin’s reaction was perfect (of course she’d be angry that he pulled this play on her and played with her emotions), I knew that when she said she wouldn’t date him, he wasn’t looking for a girlfriend. He was looking for a fiance. I was betting on “Turn the page over,” or “I don’t want to date you. I want to marry you.” Clearly, it was the first: “Step 16: Hope she says yes.”

It was just all so sweet. And then, of course, it started snowing, and I just lost it. We’ve been waiting for these crazy kids (emphasis on crazy) to get together, and we finally did. Seriously, we’re in the final moments here: Let the series end the right way.

A few other notes:

  • This can officially be called a Buffy reunion. Sure, we might have been missing three main players of the Scooby gang, but we got Alyson Hannigan, Seth Green, Alexis Denisof, and if I saw correctly, a brief cameo by Tom Lenk. Considering that I feel “reunion” is used way too often (much like TV Addict), this one can be used freely.
  • There’s not much to be said about the first episode, but I did enjoy it. I wish I had more to say. Though, to be honest, I could have done without Ted’s storyline. Everyone else’s, though, very good.
  • Lily looked awful in that blue dress. Sorry, I love Alyson Hannigan, but that wasn’t very flattering. Especially when you saw Robin. Sheesh.

Ok, that’s about it on my end. To 2013!

Update: Looks like at the end of this interview, Craig Thomas says that if this isn’t the final season, they’ll only have ten more for next year. Plus, some additional great info about the episode and what’s next.

One thought on “HIMYM: The Last Page

  1. You’re right; the show should end after this season. Not because I don’t like it, but BECAUSE I love it. I want it to go out on top, which in my mind, it still is right now. The way they tied the weirdness and out of character moments of the last six episodes into one last big play by the Barnacle was nothing short of TV perfection. I recorded everything that aired during primetime on the four major networks last night using PrimeTime Anytime on my DISH Hopper. This way I can use the Auto Hop feature and skip the commercials completely when I re-watch it; and “The Final Page” is definitely deserving of multiple viewings. Like you said, when they do big moments, they do them better than just about anyone else on TV.

Leave a Reply

