Vampire Diaries: O Come, All Ye Faithful

VAMPIRE DIARIES: 4.09 “O Come, All Ye Faithful”

Whoa. As always, TVD delivers in another finale. True, this was only the mid-season finale, but it didn’t make the ending any less shocking.

Let’s see, what happened. In the very nice, sweet category: Jeremy still has feelings for Bonnie and was able to use that to detour his hunter lust. In the heartbreaking category: Damon let Elena go, in the hopes that she won’t be sired to him anymore. And in the haha, well, you deserve it because you suck category: Stefan got all pissy because he found out Elena slept with Damon. And by the way, Caroline, are you unable to keep a secret? Geez.

I’m not going to be too mad at Caroline, though, because she’s got some rough times coming, now that Tyler’s on the run from Klaus. It looks lik ethe big plan to put down the Big Bad went wrong — or more accurately, was sabotaged — and now, not only are the many hybrids dead, but Klaus is looking for Tyler next. And he’ll do what he has to do to get his revenge, even if that means taking out the only human in Tyler’s life: his mother.

Now, while his mother’s death was shocking, I can’t say I felt too much. She hasn’t been in the series all that much (now, if it were Caroline’s mother, that’d be different), but I can only imagine the repercussions. This isn’t going to be pretty, folks.

Meanwhile, April seems to have stumbled into the supernatural, not only by seeing Caroline undead; then seeing if not Klaus actually rip out a heart, seeing what remained; and now seeing her friend corpsified with a big stake in her heart. While April’s a nice girl, I somehow doubt she’s going to take the side of the good guys when her friend’s in a coffin. She just may be a fan of the Originals.

But last and, well, least, let’s discuss the cure. We’ve discovered the real story behind the cure, that it was developed by an immortal who was left immortal and alone when his love was killed. He finally came up with a cure, but was buried alive with it.

Now, that’s all well and good. But somehow, I still think this “cure” is too good to be true. I doubt you just become human again. If you were immortal, hoping for death, wouldn’t the “cure” be death? And if you’re a hunter, protecting the cure, why would it turn vampires human? Wouldn’t it just kill them?

I still think the cure is just a dumb ploy, and I’m not falling for it. But maybe I’m just cynical. But what keeps me watching? Well, there’s always the love between a certain vampire and his sired gal.

2 thoughts on “Vampire Diaries: O Come, All Ye Faithful

  1. First of all, let me start by saying my DVR did not tape this so I didn’t know there was a new episode until I saw your post! Luckily, it was available on demand. Now onto the show…

    Wow. A lot happened in this episode. I’m still not thrilled with the whole Elena being sired to Damon because I just want them to be together without any strings attached. But, I still enjoyed their scenes together. And I’m glad Stefan found out about them, although I think it was wrong of Caroline to tell him. Elena asked her not too! Caroline has been bugging me lately. She’s being very judgmental of Elena.

    I’m kind of confused with the whole hybrid plot. Why did Klaus kill all of them? And as for Tyler’s mother, I always wonder when someone dies on the show if they will be brought back somehow. So we’ll see with that. And with April…I totally agree with you. She was friends with Rebecca, so I see her siding with her. And I wonder if she’ll pull out the stake. It’s not like she knows to do that, but I’m just curious if that will happen.

  2. Pingback: Catching Up on The Vampire Diaries | Raked

Leave a Reply

