The Return of the Open Thread: I Need Your Holiday Help

It’s the week before Thanksgiving. What does that mean? Christmas is right around the corner. If you haven’t yet been bombarded by holiday commercials and an already active holiday movie schedule on Lifetime and ABC Family, just leave your house. Tuesday was the first day I heard “All I Want for Christmas Is You” playing on an overhead radio at the mall.

And while I’m not yet allowed to be in the Christmas spirit, I do need to start my holiday preparations. Last year, I made it my goal to watch 25 Christmas episodes in the 25 days leading up to December 25. It was my Christmas Challenge. I have to say, it was rough, but worth it, and in the end, I had a good, diverse set of Christmas shows to recommend watching — or staying away from, as the case may be.

This year, I plan to do it again, though there is one caveat: I can’t include any episodes I watched last year. That will be a tough one, since I had a pretty hearty year last year. You can see the entire list here in slideshow form. Fortunately, I can watch the same series, just as long as it’s a different holiday episode.

Nonetheless, I need your help. What holiday episodes should I be watching? What do you recommend? I’ve got my collection of DVDs, plus Netflix instant and disks, so hopefully, whatever you name, I have a chance to see. But I need to start my viewing soon. Let me know what you recommend now.

In the meantime, enjoy your fall weather and your gobble gobble dinner next week. We’ll leave the red, green, and sparkly for December 1.

11 thoughts on “The Return of the Open Thread: I Need Your Holiday Help

  1. Really? I didn’t know that! I watched Brothers and Sisters off and on, but I must’ve missed some of their holiday episodes (really, the fact that B&S was on Sunday nights hurt me; so much was on Sunday nights!). Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. The Office has a ton of Christmas episodes, so you could go back to that series. Up All Night’s Christmas episode last year was funny. And I don’t think you did Full House last year!

  3. Thanks! Last year, regarding Gilmore Girls, I either was stuck with no disks yet (which shouldn’t be a problem, since I own them all now), or I was stumped at which episode to watch. I have a couple options in mind this year.

  4. Raked – my favorite holiday Brothers and Sisters episode was “Cold Turkey” in season 5 (I think they had one per season though). Nora announces she’s not hosting Christmas and once the kids get over the shock, the go to war over who will host Christmas.

  5. Pingback: The Return of the Christmas Challenge! | Raked

Leave a Reply

