Vampire Diaries: Kill or Be Killed

VAMPIRE DIARIES: 4.05 “The Killer”

Oh, Elena, don’t you know that when you kill someone, you don’t bury the body? You set it up so it looks like an accident so no one knows they were ever killed. Sheesh.

I’m kidding, of course. It actually was a great episode, seeing Elena make her first kill. Now, I’ve never killed anyone, and I can’t imagine what it would feel like, and yes, Elena was in a state of rage. But wasn’t part of this an attitude of “kill or be killed”? She was protecting Jeremy, not including Stefan, Damon, Caroline, herself.

But she did take a life, and we all knew that with her compassion, that would change her. I wonder what we’ll see of her next because I can’t imagine that this is the end of the aftermath.

Meanwhile, Jeremy is the newest one of the Five. Now, this was an incredibly predictable turn of events, but I’m finding it really interesting, too. Would he really turn against vampires? But at the same time, now there’s an opportunity to yet again find the cure.

Oh, the cure. The cure the cure the cure. Remember that episode of Angel, when Spike and Angel were on pursuit of the one thing that would bring their redemption (one could argue it was a cure of sorts), and it ended up being a cup of Mellow Yellow? Yeah, somehow I see this “cure” as a cup of Mellow Yellow. A) It seems too easy. And B) it makes no logical sense.

If the Five are vampire hunters, whose sole purpose is to kill vampires, why would their map lead them to a cure for vampirism? And why would they consider it the greatest weapon? My guess? It’s actually a weapon, something that will KILL all the vampires. I mean, that would “cure” the world of vampires, wouldn’t it? More people can’t become vampires if there are no vampires to turn them.

It just feels incredibly gullible for Stefan, Klaus, and Damon to really think there is a cure.

Those are just my reactions. What about you? Are you as skeptical as I am?

2 thoughts on “Vampire Diaries: Kill or Be Killed

  1. Yeah, I’m not into this whole cure thing. It seems way too easy and I don’t want Elena to have another easy way out like she always does.

    I’m interested to see how the Jeremy story line plays out too. I can see Damon using it to his advantage to kill vampires he doesn’t like so the entire map appears. Although, then again, I don’t think Damon wants Elena to get the cure.

  2. It’s funny that you said that you don’t want Elena to have another easy way out “like she always does.” I guess I’ve never really thought about her in that way, but you’re right. She does seem to just be lucky (mainly because she has about 50 million people looking out for her).

    I’m really most intrigued about Jeremy. He’s certainly one that I felt always lucked out of things — mainly because of his invincibility ring. So now he’s in the thick of it. I look forward to seeing what he does.

Leave a Reply

