Switched at Birth: The Cons of Fake Marriage

SWITCHED AT BIRTH: 1.24 “The Intruder”

Ok. Hmm. How to write about last night’s Switched at Birth?

It’s always a little nerve-racking when I come to review a show and that’s how I start. It’s not that I don’t know what to say. I do. It’s just that…I don’t want to be…too…brutal?

The problem is, the episode was fine. Not good. Not bad. Just fine, ok, standard. Nothing special. But it was fine enough to watch once.

But bugged me about the episode, though, was the entire marriage storyline. Now, I watch a lot of TV and movies. The whole “marriage to get out of deportation” is a typical storyline, and frankly, it never goes well. Heck, The Proposal was playing on FX at the same time Switched at Birth was airing its new episode. Anyone going into a sham marriage should know that it’s no easy feat, just by watching TV alone. So why was Regina so surprised?

Oh right, her friend had a sham marriage and was fine. That’s convincing.

So it made the show a little trivial. If you didn’t think there’d be a downside, you clearly are an idiot. So Regina and Angelo, you are idiots. (Especially since Regina just thought she could go along dating her boyfriend without an repercussions. Regina’s always had some street smarts, but where were they this week?)

I understand why she ran back in the courthouse and desperately married Angelo. For Bay. But now that they’re married, I just wasn’t invested in the ridiculous fallout. Angelo will get in apartment. I mean, he’ll move in with Regina and Daphne. I mean, he’ll now live with the Kennishes.

The only part that I did like, though, was that final scene with Angelo in the window, and Daphne waving at him. Daphne’s got the real shitty deal in all of this (pardon my French). She has major issues with Angelo, and it’s actually rather rude of her mother to forget that. Anyway, that brief scene made us see in a glance how much she still needs to get over…but the idea that there’s hope that she can.

As for the rest, well…

  • The baseball record? Eh. I kinda forget that John was a baseball player in the first place, so I care little about his record or his becoming a has-been.
  • The street art? While cool, I’m not sure I love Bay’s new street art contact. I imagine they’ll be bringing her back, but she hasn’t really grabbed me yet. I like Bay’s work better.
  • Emmett at the house? Probably the most interesting, mainly because we really haven’t seen Toby’s reaction to any of this yet. Toby might be one of my favorite characters, solely because he doesn’t say much, but when he does, it’s good, so I liked hearing from him.
  • Finally, Daphne at work? I just keep seeing previews, and I fear where this is going. But if I were that chef, I’m not sure I would have been so kind to her when she was having a meltdown. Maybe if she had been working there longer. But I do like the band-aid guy! He’s been nice from the start.

Ok, that’s it. On to next week. What’d you think?

3 thoughts on “Switched at Birth: The Cons of Fake Marriage

  1. I’ve heard that since 9/11, it’s become much harder to marry a foreigner in order to get them a green card. I didn’t watch this episode but I wonder if they really downplayed the real obstacles to something like this.

  2. I’ve heard the same thing, that just marrying a citizen doesn’t do it anymore, and there’s still a ton of paperwork, etc. (in fact, I think they even said that in HIMYM when Robin was facing deportation to Canada). Just another reason why this storyline is LAME!

  3. Which, I must add, at least they got creative with the deportation storyline with HIMYM. In Switched, it was an overplayed storyline with a typical response — and the people were too dumb to realize what they’d be facing when any viewer could!

    Personally, I’m also skeptical that the judge that said he had to leave the country wouldn’t have seen through this from the start, just because of timing.

Leave a Reply

