Thursday Open Thread: Anticipated New Series

It’s September.

Let me restate that.

It’s September.

It’s fall, people! That means new episodes of our old favorites and new series premiering. It’s possibly the most exciting time of the year. It’s basically Christmas for TV reviewers.

So what new series are you excited about?

There’s a wide assortment to choose from. After all, later today, I’ll be attending a screening in Boston of the new show Revolution (and for you not in Boston, you can watch it early, too). It looks like an interesting premise, but I’m not quite certain what we’ll be getting yet after seeing more promos.

A show I’m particularly excited about (and I may be one of the few) is Elementary, starring Jonny Lee Miller and Lucy Liu, two of my current favorite-but-unappreciated actors. I may not be spoiled by the BBC series’ interpretation, so I won’t be watching it, playing a comparison game (even if they are two very different series). And frankly, I want to see what these actors can do.

What else? Surprisingly enough, Arrow on the CW. Who would have thought a CW show would make the list? I have faith that they can do a superhero series right after Smallville  (though now that I’m thinking about it, Smallville did have its best seasons on the WB). Nonetheless, I’m curious.

I guess the last show I might add is Nashville, the newest show to join the singing and dancing trend. It’s not necessarily the songs that get me as much as the cast. Connie Britton has impressed me in recent years, and I’ve tended to follow Hayden Panettiere’s work around (perhaps I shouldn’t admit that; I even saw her horrible Bring It On sequel). While country music doesn’t grab me, the show might. Of course, I’ll have to get over my mild freakout that we’re supposed to see Panettiere as an adult.

Anyway, that’s a small, initial list. I’ll, of course, catch some of the other shows, but those are the ones grabbing my attention right now. Here’s a list of the new shows that are coming up.

What shows on your list?

For any of you interested, looks like there are some sneak peek pilots of The Mindy Project and Ben and Kate online, too. And, of course, Go On is still available after its premiere during the Olympics. Feel free to check them out and report back.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Anticipated New Series

  1. I’m curious about Last Resort. Honestly, though, other than that there really aren’t any new shows that I’m looking forward to this fall. Most of the stuff I’m interested in is returning. I hope something comes out of nowhere and surprises me.

  2. Oh, Last Resort was on my list, too, but I am a little more tentative on that one. The premise sounds amazing, and I imagine the pilot will be really suspenseful and cool. But then what?

    Cult grabbed my attention the CW, but alas, it doesn’t have a premiere date yet (which I’m assuming means it must be for mid-season, instead of the fall, but I could be wrong). I know little about it, but the one-liner I read sounded interesting, and hey, it’s got Alaric from Vampire Diaries. I guess I’ll have to wait on that one.

  3. The only new show I’m looking forward to is Last Resort as well. Nothing else has really sparked my interest. I have too many other shows that are returning!

  4. Good point about Last Resort. Doesn’t seem to have a lot of staying power based on the premise. I had forgotten to mention Vegas, which I’m sort of curious about. I believe it’s a CBS show, though, so I worry it’s going to become too boring and formulaic too quickly.

  5. Oh, I’m definitely checking out Elementary as well. I’ve really enjoyed what the BBC has done with Sherlock, but I’m happy to have a surplus of Sherlocks all hanging out together on my DVR.

    I’m kind of curious about Revolution, too, but in a much more reserved way. All the promos that NBC aired during the Olympics caught my interest, but we shall see if the show can keep it.

Leave a Reply

