Falling Skies: Death March

FALLING SKIES: 2.08 “Death March”

With a name like “Death March,” I certainly didn’t think we’d be seeing good things in this episode. I thought there’d be more horrific deaths, more heartbreak. But I didn’t expect this.

It was actually a slow episode. A slow, powerful episode. The group was making their way to Charleston and telling very intriguing stories along the way. Weaver had his former military guy, who was still suffering the loss of his friend killed dead in the street in the last episode. Tom had Anne, Lourdes, and Matt in a truck, which was probably the saddest transport there. And then there was Hal, Maggie, and Pope, all in another (and on another route).

Weaver’s conversation was interesting, but having spent little time with his driver (whose name I’ve forgotten), it was strange. But then again, it was a nice change. We’ve seen all the usual mashups of characters, so why not shine a light on someone else? Someone who really was a soldier? And someone who was feeling guilty over watching his own friend die in the street.

While it was a little predictable, I did like to see how Weaver broke him down, to realize that he didn’t really kill anyone with his decisions. This is a war show, and that has to be reminded. After all the mindless deaths, we need to remember that the aliens are the enemy.

Which I suppose is something that the rest of the group needs to be reminded. It’s not that I’m heartless, but let’s think of the larger picture. They hit a harnessed girl. And then? They actually bring her with them? Didn’t they fall for this trap with Karen?

I did feel bad for Matt, though. He seemed to have found himself a friend. He’s having a rough time of it, writing up his will. Really, I love Matt, and I just want to see that cute kid who rode on the skateboard in the first episode again. I guess that’s part of the issue, though: This world is just making him grow up too fast.

Meanwhile, there were all kinds of discoveries in the truck with Hal, Maggie, and Pope. I was most invested in this, I must say, as these three are probably my favorite characters. (In fact, a spinoff with these three would be quite entertaining.) Maggie and Pope are two characters that we know the least about, but they seem to have so much complexity in their lives. The confession that Maggie used to get high, ended up in a women’s facility, and then had a child was rather huge. How Hal will deal with it is still up in the air, but based on the glances at the end of the episode, it looks like they’ll pull through. But I do wonder whether we’ll be seeing that boy with the beautiful eyes later in the series.

In the end, the group finally made it to Charleston. I honestly thought that we were really going to discover Charleston was no longer, much like the 2nd Mass thought at first sight, but I’m glad to see that we’re wrong. That there is a Charleston somewhere hidden.

I can’t wait to see where this goes. And I can’t tell you how happy I am that everyone made it through another death march.

Leave a Reply

