Bunheads: The Motherload

BUNHEADS: 1.07 “What’s Your Damage, Heather?”

What a complicated little episode of Bunheads we had here. It wasn’t hard to follow, of course, but looking back, there was a lot of stuff going on! Michelle went into full responsibility mode: teaching nonstop dance classes, a plumbing disaster in the studio, going into “mom” mode with the girls, and more. I enjoyed it at the time (heck, I watched this while swimming was going on during the Olympics coverage), but now that I’m thinking about it, I don’t really know where to devote my time with the review.

Michelle seems to have found a rhythm in Paradise, and the show seems to have found its rhythm with her and the girls. It’s not that I’m particularly enjoying Kelly Bishop’s absence, but the show has grown stronger now that we don’t have the interactions between the two and Sutton Foster is forced to take the lead.

That being said, there were some weird things here. First, the entire episode with Michelle concerned about all that she wasn’t doing for Sasha and all the problems she somehow thinks she’s failing to fix. Now, in my opinion, Michelle’s no mother — but she’s not meant to be. Sure, Michelle may feel split between the friend and parent line, but parent isn’t really a role I ever thought she needed to be in.

That being said, I think Boo’s mother handled the situation well. Yes, the easy answer would be for Boo to say, “You’re not her mother. You do what you can but that’s all you can do.” Instead, she did make it clear the level of responsibility Michelle does have: role model. She didn’t say it in those exact words, but they love Michelle. They look up to her. Which means her words and actions have power.

So while the concern of Michelle’s was odd, I did like the outcome. On the other hand, Truly’s outburst just seemed weird.

After being caught in the ballet studio with the plumber, Truly is beside herself in her embarrassment and shame. But not because of who. She’s still hung up on Hubbel.

Now, given how Truly was in the first episode, this is no surprise. But since Hubbel has barely been a blink in anyone’s eye in the last few episodes, not even his mother’s. So to see Truly suddenly so distraught again seemed to surprise me. And honestly, it was a bit of a downer in a rather solid, fun episode. I hope we’re past it.

Beyond that, it looks like this episode provided some good movement forward for the show. Sasha’s clearly still on her downward spiral. Ginny is heading in new directions. And Boo might not be as happy-go-lucky as she used to be (through no fault of Michelle, despite that glance in the car). I’m glad the show finally has some direction, and I’m looking forward to next week.

One thought on “Bunheads: The Motherload

  1. This show is turning into this summer’s Smash for me; something I never thought I’d be interested in, yet something that I look forward to watching every week. In contrast to Smash, which I was mostly hate-watching, i think this is actually good. I think the quality of the writing, overall, is high and that may be what keeps me coming back.

    I shouldn’t be ashamed of this, right?

Leave a Reply

