Thursday Open Thread: Musical Memories

Twice this week, I’ve heard “Glory Days” on the radio. Instantly, it was like I was rewatching Michael J. Fox’s last episode of Spin City. I could see him moving around DC in those final moments (jump about five minutes into the video below to see what I mean). Then I start thinking about Mary J. Blige’s “I Try,” when the team was saying good-bye to him in the bar, tears in tow.

With One Tree Hill‘s finale last night (still processing that loss), I truly realized how important music was to episodes. And no, it wasn’t just because Gavin DeGraw sang the ever-famous theme song at Tric (though that was awesome). Even before, the way that every episode was named after a song, and at the end of each, we saw what artists were featured, you realized that music was at the heart of One Tree Hill. Even the creator said that he felt like he was creating his own mix tape though OTH.

I know I’ve asked this before, but it feels like a good time to ask it again, now that TV Madness is over, and I’m forcing a return to the open thread:

What songs remind you of TV shows — or TV episodes?

Anything come to mind?

 

2 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Musical Memories

  1. “I don’t want to wait” by Paula Cole will forever remind me of Dawson’s Creek. Granted it was their theme song, so that’s probably why. Also, The Fray’s Never Say Never reminds me of Vampire Diaries. It was played during a scene with Stefan and Elena at the very beginning of the series. I thought it was during the first season actually. But whenever I hear it, it makes me think of them.

  2. There’s a song by Kate Voegele, “It’s Only Life.” When it’s not constantly reminding me of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 (it was used in the promo), it reminds me of One Tree Hill. They used it, I think, when they were filming the movie based on Lucas’ book.

    Lately I’ve been hearing a song on the radio, “I’m Glad You Came” (I assume that’s the name of it). It’s weird. I’m not the biggest fan of the song, but now all it does is remind me of Dancing with the Stars, since I saw a performance of it recently. I find it odd when I start associating today’s pop music with reality/competition shows, since those usually have no emotional connection.

Leave a Reply

