Being Human: Blood Drunk

BEING HUMAN: 2.06 “Mama Said There’d Be Decades Like These”

Oh, Being Human. What is there to say? This episode certainly wasn’t the best, but we got to see Bishop again, which I always enjoyed last season. In fact, while I’m glad that Dichen Lachman has found new work, we don’t have the same element of terror that we had with Bishop, and I miss it.

Unfortunately, Bishop’s still dead, and he was merely a vision, a voice in Aidan’s head. While entertaining, I was hoping for more. But then again, he’s dead. What more could you ask for?

Aidan was entertaining in this episode, basically reacting only because of his blood drunkenness. Generally, he was an asshole, especially when Josh was so worried about Nora and the cops. But there were moments that he just made me laugh, namely, at the awkward dinner with Sally and her mother. Personally, I could care less about his relationship with his “son,” but his attitude throughout the dinner made his presence worthwhile in this episode.

And what about Sally and her mother? For the life of me, I could not understand why her mother didn’t understand why Sally was upset. Yes, parents have their own lives. But to say that that “life” included adultery makes it not ok. I was on Sally’s side. No matter what. I wish we had spent a little more time with the dark figure following Sally around than this plot. Honestly, it felt more like the writers still don’t know what to do with Sally.

And finally, Josh. Josh is definitely my favorite character of the series, and he’s definitely in an awful predicament. I love how he takes the reigns, talking to the new cop vamp, and for a while there, I did think she was going to backstab him. Now I just have to hope she really does kill the purebreds (though I have a sneaking suspicion that she’ll botch the job, and they’ll come after Josh — possibly Nora, too).

I guess I don’t have much more to say. I wish I had a stronger reaction to this episode. Perhaps next week?

Leave a Reply

