Recap Review: Wainy Days

WAINY DAYS: SEASONS 1-4 DVD

You know I love web series. I’m woefully  behind on them (I’m so sorry, The Guild!), but I’m a big fan of independent artists doing their own thing to make TV — even on this crazy medium we call the internet. Well, Wainy Days is one such series, and I’m embarrassed to say that this series missed my radar, despite the glorious number of great actors and actresses that have guested on this series.

Well, miss it no more. The first four seasons are now available on DVD starting today, which you can pick up, own, and watch in the comfort of your own home. In fact, you could even have a PJ party in honor of the DVD. Heck, David Wain did; it’s one of the bonuses of owning the DVD, brand-new footage with 23 cameos.

And I really do enjoy the cameos. This show has tons of guest appearances of some of my favorite stars, including Rashida Jones, Paul Rudd, Ron Swanson (does he have a real name?), and of course, Party Down‘s own Ken Marino, who even directed some of the episodes. I like seeing these guys out of their element (or regular TV shows).

But I will say, this show is strange. What was a line used in one of the episodes? “Naughty but witty.” That pretty much puts it in black and white terms. I really appreciate some of the one-liners and strange situations. It’s just whacky (it even has musical numbers). But I will say, it might not entirely my type of humor sometimes. It is rather crass and, well, blatant in its sexuality and explicitness. And I’m not always a fan of that. So in its extremes, I was rather turned off.

But you know, I’m not like everyone. And if you’re a fan of David Wain (of Wet Hot American SummerRole Models, and the upcoming Wanderlust fame), you’ll probably love this series inside and out. And I’d recommend it for the casual viewer, even if there are a handful of episodes I’d personally skip.

So brace yourself for an off-the-wall comedy — and the chance to watch back-to-back episodes without having to click your mouse. And if that doesn’t convince you, maybe Garfunkel and Oates will. This song, “David Wain Is Sexy,” is a bonus on the DVD, and, well, it’s just damn entertaining.

Leave a Reply

