Thursday Open Thread: Favorite Home Improvement or Makeover Show

I don’t own a house. I’m a renter, much like many others in this Boston area in which I live. And yet, I spend a lot of time watching HGTV. When did this happen? When did I become the person who loved watching everyone else renovate and redesign their homes? I’ve got an apartment with white walls and no options. Where’s the connection?

Nonetheless, I’m hooked. I may never want to do a renovation (trust me, many of these shows have taught me that), and I may not want to put vintage wallpaper in my dining room (just because it’s trendy doesn’t mean it won’t get outdated in ten years), but I sure do enjoy watching other people do it. So I have to ask…

What’s your favorite home improvement or makeover show?

I don’t even have to think about this: Income Property. And no, it’s not just because I was watching an episode of it last night (in fact, it wasn’t really catching my attention at the time). There’s something actually just interesting about it.

First, it really teaches you something. It’s not like the Flip this House or Trading Spaces of yore, where you wondered if what they were squeezing into two days was actually safe in the long run. No, here, you’re learning about fire codes and state codes, and you can actually see how he’s fixing every safety defect in the place.

Second, I think I relate. Sure, I’m not homeowner, but seeing how they transform dingy dungeon basements into spotless, trendy living spaces is just great. Maybe I just want to move in. If anything, I want to see what the rents are.

Finally, it really makes me realize how much an income property — or renovation in any respect — can really increase your property value. I love hearing those final numbers. (Not that it convinces me to do it on my own.)

It’s just interesting, and I like it. What can I say? Are you hooked like me? What’s your favorite?

3 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Favorite Home Improvement or Makeover Show

  1. I like Property Brothers, bc I LOVE when the couple gets a big old dose of reality. I also love DIY Disasters, bc the host is so no-nonsense and the husbands are so clueless and the wives are so eye-rolly that it is just goot entertainment. That one where they guys picks up people in Home Depot and then comepletely redoes their backyard is fun too.

  2. Wow – totally did not proof that – it’s GOOD entertainment and THE GUY picks up people in Home Depot… sheesh.

  3. I blame my mother for this recent addiction to HGTV. I would have to say that my favorite show is a tie between Income Property & Property Virgins. I like Income Property for the same reasons you listed and with Property Virgins I love to see those first-time home buyers get a dose of reality. house Hunters and House Hunters: International are must see for me. I like t torture myself by looking at beautiful homes in beautiful locations. That new show My House, Your Money is just plain hilarious.

Leave a Reply

