‘Top Model’ Fans, Get ‘Scouted’

You know me. I’m not really the person that checks out loads of reality programs. But there are certain reality and competition genres that I have a weakness for: food, bridal gowns, and (most embarrassingly) modeling.

But I’m not the only one that has this weakness. How do I know? Well, America’s Next Top Model has been on the air for years, and now E! is joining the fun. Premiering tonight is their new show Scouted, which takes you behind the scenes of what it looks like to be a big time model in New York City. This isn’t a competition show; this is a view into the girls who are scouted and trained to be the right model for one particular management company and the people who run it.

On paper, it might not sound all that original. Isn’t the real interesting part of model shows seeing the ridiculous nature that the competitors tear each other apart and pull hair just to get their name on Tyra’s flatscreen?

Well, after watching the first episode, it’s actually rather addictive. We’ve got controlling mothers, critical (yet still nice) decision-makers, and one super-cute model that you just adore.

Seriously. I don’t know if we’ll see Gillian after the first episode, but she’s so freakin’ cute that if you put her next to a pile of puppies, I don’t know who would be more adorable. Yet, she hits the model-sphere with such talent that you forget she’s only 15 years old — someone who hasn’t yet completed 10th grade! In fact, the only thing I didn’t like about this girl is what the modeling world could potentially do to her. Man, they start young.

And while they’re all smiles and constructive criticism to the girls’ faces, you quickly realize the harshness of the industry. The minute the prospective model leaves, they start analyzing footage, saying that her legs aren’t toned and that she learned her modeling by watching Top Model (and yes, I did appreciate that they did acknowledge the other major modeling show out there).

My real critique for the pilot is that I can’t say I’m really intrigued by the characters. Perhaps that’s something I’ll get used to. My attention was much more invested in watching the prospective models than anything else.

Yet, somehow, I’m hooked. I can’t say this is a groundbreaking new series — it’s a reality show, for goodness sake — but it has entertainment value, and once you get to know the members of the management team, I think you could really start rooting for them Say Yes to the Dress style.

So Top Model fans, consider checking it out. The show premieres tonight at 10/9c on E!

*image courtesy of E!

Leave a Reply

