Thursday Open Thread: The Mourned and the Detested

Autumn is in the air, leaves are falling, and the end of 2011 is drawing closer. This time of year sometimes makes me think of “the end” but rather than ponder the existential implications of that thought, I’ll turn it towards television instead.

What dearly departed shows do you miss? It could be a show from seasons ago (I miss you, Kings) or something from this year (Haha; like anyone’s going to miss The Playboy Club).

Or, if you prefer to ignite the furnace of your hate and let it warm you all winter long, let us know what show or shows you desperately want to lead off to the cancellation guillotine. (Oh, Secret Life of the American Teenager; you poorly-acted, manipulative, didactic joy-sucking vampire of a program. You make me want to break my television)

Let us know what you love and miss, or hate and want off the air, below.

2 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: The Mourned and the Detested

  1. I can’t think of any shows that I miss, but there are two shows that I would LOVE to see taken off the air: Jershey Shore and Keeping Up with the Kardashians. I’ve never really watched either of the shows, but from what I’ve seen, it is garbarge. And I’m sorry if I’m offending anyone who watches these shows; I really just don’t get it.

  2. I completely agree with KM! And JC, for that matter. American Teenager NEEDS TO GO. It dumbs down TV and TV writing as an entire genre. For that matter, so does Two and a Half Men. It’s so crass and unfunny. Bleck.

    I still miss Tru Calling. And Joan of Arcadia. There are plenty others, but for some reason, Joan always reminds me of fall and both these shows were on around the same time, so they tend to go hand-in-hand. (I think it was Joan’s scarves. Or the tree metaphor in the first episode. I don’t know but it always reminds me of fall.)

Leave a Reply

