New Girl: Two Episodes, One Post

NEW GIRL: 1.01 “Pilot”
NEW GIRL: 1.02 “Kryptonite”

Ok, this is a show that deserves its full season order. I like it. It’s cute. It’s creative. And it has a douchebag jar. What more can you ask for?

Well, consistency of characters would be nice. I would have loved it if Damon Wayans, Jr. could have continued to be in the series, but honestly, Coach wasn’t exactly what I expected. He was a bit one-dimensional, and I honestly thought he’d be nicer. Sure, that’s the point, but it just wasn’t what I expected. I’m a fan of Wayans, and I’d like to see him in the show, but ultimately, Winston’s a pretty good character to replace him with. More room to grow (though apparently we’re keeping the sports thing).

But sadly, with multiple characters, we don’t get to know Winston for a few more episodes. Pilots are generally weak on character development, and now we get a delay. Oh well. That’s what you get when you cast a guy who’s show gets picked up at the last minute. I like Happy Endings. I’m not going to complain.

Anyway, the show’s just fun, and that’s all I can really ask for. I still love Jess — and her songs, of course. My favorite part of the episode was her coming out of the house with all that stuff and the group saying they created a Helena Bonham Carter. That was fantastic, and rather true. The TV plot felt a little too much like the first (or was it second?) episode of The Big Bang Theory, and the ex-boyfriend was incredibly lame (so much so that I didn’t understand her weakness to him, even with his gross hair), but I did like how the guys stood up for her. It was nice to see Winston hesitate. After all, he didn’t have the moment in the pilot where he ran to her rescue at the restaurant. But he eventually, he donned a hat, too, and joined the cause.

The part of this show that surprised me when I first watched it was the fact that the roommates would have storylines, too. For some reason, I forgot that would happen. All the promos focused on Jess; I shouldn’t have been surprised, but somehow I forgot they’d be part of the show beyond the dressing. They’re not fully round yet, but they’re getting there. And of course, Nick will be the love interest eventually. We know little about him except his own breakup, but I’m interested in finding out more.

And ultimately, Jess is adorable. Love her. And her movie jars.

Oh, and every show should have a douchebag jar. Really. They should.

Leave a Reply

