Trailer Talk: The Secret Circle

The Fall is coming! The Fall is coming! And it’s about time I start writing about some of these upcoming series. So for the next couple weeks until premieres actually start, you’ll see me writing some early impressions based on two things: description and trailer. You can decide on your own what you think of a series, but I’ll give you my impressions first.

The Secret Circle
Series Premiere: Thursday, September 16, at 9/8c on the CW

Cassie Blake was a happy, normal teenage girl – until her mother Amelia dies in what appears to be a tragic accidental fire. Orphaned and deeply saddened, Cassie moves in with her warm and loving grandmother Jane in the beautiful small town of Chance Harbor, Washington – the town her mother left so many years before – where the residents seem to know more about Cassie than she does about herself. As Cassie gets to know her high school classmates, including sweet-natured Diana and her handsome boyfriend Adam, brooding loner Nick, mean-girl Faye and her sidekick Melissa, strange and frightening things begin to happen. When her new friends explain that they are all descended from powerful witches, and they’ve been waiting for Cassie to join them and complete a new generation of the Secret Circle, Cassie refuses to believe them – until Adam shows her how to unlock her incredible magical powers. But it’s not until Cassie discovers a message from her mother in an old leather-bound book of spells hidden in her mother’s childhood bedroom, that she understands her true and dangerous destiny. What Cassie and the others don’t yet know is that darker powers are at play, powers that might be linked to the adults in the town, including Diana’s father and Faye’s mother – and that Cassie’s mother’s death might not have been an accident.

My Thoughts: I feel as though I need to preface my early thoughts for this show. I read the books. In fact, I read them way back when in the ’90s. I’ve read them multiple times (after all, when you read them once in middle school, you tend to read them over and over, just because of the sentimental attachment). So I’m a bit disappointed that the show is not that similar to the books. Of course, I knew they’d cut characters (twelve in the coven is a lot, and some of them were flat characters anyway), but even their backgrounds are changed.

Why must we start with Cassie losing her mother? Yes, it starts the story, but it’s way too similar to The Vampire Diaries, which is important to note. This show is already based on books by the same author that The Vampire Diaries were based on, and I imagine they’re hoping to hit the same audience. We need some distinguishing factors.

More so, I’m hesitant about Faye, who I think is terribly miscast. Maybe I’ll be surprised, but right now, she appears very one-dimensional. She’s a very fake forceful, a fake bitchy. I just don’t believe her. They could have done better, found someone who really feels threatening and controlling. Think a female version of Damon or even Angelus from Buffy. Cold, powerful, threatening. Here, I feel like she was just chosen because she can glare.

Maybe she’ll surprise me. I don’t know. But either way, I’ll be checking out, just to see what they do with it. But as you read my future reviews, keep in mind where I’m coming from. Hey, at least Lux is in it. There’s a bright side, right?

4 thoughts on “Trailer Talk: The Secret Circle

  1. This is exactly how I felt when I started watching “The Lying Game” on ABC Family.

    Check that post out right here http://mclairjeune.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/the-lying-game-not-nearly-enough-fun/

    I felt like they were trying to make it a little too much like “Pretty Little Liars”. I get that when new shows are made they want to ensure that they will receive viewers from the leading show that already have their core audience. Especially when both were books written by the same author. However, these people seem not to realize that just because a person watches one show does not mean they will feel the same way about a new one. I know plenty of people who watch “Pretty Little Liars” but do not watch “The Lying Game”.

    I am a fan of “The Vampire Diaries” and I plan to check out The Secret Circle. I am hoping that it won’t be TVD – just with witches.

  2. I completely agree. I think that’s why I’m hesitant at their changing Cassie’s backstory. In the books, she moved there with her mom, which was incredibly interesting since her mom DIDN’T want to be there. Here, she’s an orphan, much like Elena at the start of TVD.

  3. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: Most Anticipated New Series « Raked

  4. Pingback: The Secret Circle: Magical, Mysterious, but Muddy « Raked

Leave a Reply

