Trailer Talk: New Girl

The Fall is coming! The Fall is coming! And it’s about time I start writing about some of these upcoming series. So for the next couple weeks until premieres actually start, you’ll see me writing some early impressions based on two things: description and trailer. You can decide on your own what you think of a series, but I’ll give you my impressions first.

New Girl
Series Premiere: September 20, 9/8c on FOX

Jess Day is an offbeat and “adorkable” woman in her late 20s who, after a bad breakup, moves into a loft with three single guys. Goofy, positive, vulnerable and honest to a fault, Jess has faith in people, even when she shouldn’t. Although she’s quirky and somewhat awkward, Jess is comfortable in her own skin. More prone to friendships with women, she’s not used to hanging with the boys — especially at home.

My Thoughts: I’ve seen a variety of promos for this show, and while there’s still a little blurriness about what it actually is (beyond just a girl living with guys), it looks adorable. I’ve been a fan of Zooey Deschanel for a while now (so much so, that I’ve desperately tried to cast her in my imaginary version of Pushing Daisies, only to find out I was wrong when I watched the pilot), and really, she’s perfect for this role. “Adorkable” is right on the money, and I’m sure I’ll watch regularly and wish I looked as adorable as her in every outfit I see her in and every way she wears her hair. Sigh.

Ok, let’s move away from the girl factor for a moment. My only disappointment is that Damon Wayans Jr. is no longer in the show. He was originally cast and had to give it up when Happy Endings was renewed (not that I’m complaining), so now there’s a guy who I really don’t know and I don’t know if I’ll like as much. But I’ll give him a chance. Because, why not? The rest of the show looks great. Plus, apparently we still get Wayans in the first episode.

Ultimately, it sounds like a winning combination, and I look forward to checking it out. Can FOX handle two Deschanels in one season? I hope so. Because I like it!

Promo below (well, one of them). Your thoughts?

In other news, why would you ever have this horrible voice advertise your upcoming series? This seriously made me not even want to watch the promo! Anyway, if you want to watch another, check it out right here. It’s the original, featuring Wayans.

Update: It looks like you can download the first episode of New Girl for FREE on iTunes! Check it out. Looks like I don’t have to wait too long to see if my predictions were correct.

2 thoughts on “Trailer Talk: New Girl

  1. I’m looking forward to this. I worry that it has the possibility of sliding into cliche-ville, but I’m willing to give it a chance. I would very much like it if she never gets romantically involved with any of the roommates.

  2. Ew, I hadn’t even thought of that. Why didn’t I think of that? Of course, at some point, they’ll make her have sexual tension with one of them — I mean, that’s what every show does. But ew. I wouldn’t like that either.

Leave a Reply

