Catching Up on ‘Falling Skies’

FALLING SKIES: 1.03 “Prisoner of War”

Despite my lack of a review earlier this week, I actually did see Falling Skies. It was part of the press kit I got a couple months prior, so I wanted to sit down and rewatch it, just to make sure that I got everything down for the review. Hence the delay.

I must say, this episode is entirely different when watching it a week away from the two-hour premiere, as opposed my original viewing, where I watched them back to back. After all, having seen two episodes that kept me on the edge of my seat, and then watching this one, it didn’t make the action all that huge. Well, add in a week break, and suddenly, the action is that more intense. I liked it in both viewings in different ways, but I’d say, I think I liked it better in my second viewing.

It’s really a sad episode. For some reason, when I think of this episode, I always think of Tom. After all, Tom brings a skitter to the school as a prisoner of war. Tom meets Harris, the last person with Tom’s wife the morning she died. He survived; she didn’t. It really does seem to be an episode about Tom.

But really, in my second viewing, it becomes that much more about Hal. Poor Hal is blasted by a mech and awakens to see his girlfriend Karen (who I really like, by the way) dragged away. He’s helpless to do anything. Then, he’s forced to watch another mech kill five innocent harnessed kids. Hal will never be the same.

And you can imagine his relationship with his father just might be strained after this. After all, he saw Tom and the truck drive away, leaving him with the mechs. The betrayal was painful. Of course, we knew that Tom was unconscious and completely distraught when he found out his son was left behind, but Hal certainly didn’t see it that way. In fact, it annoyed me when Tom later confesses to Anne that Hal blames himself for Karen’s capture. No, Tom, he blamed you.

But this is a show about family. I think they’ll be ok in the long run (at least I hope so).

There are three main things in this episode that intrigue me, and I look forward to seeing what’s next:

  1. What really happened with Harris and Tom’s wife? The suspicion there almost feels affair-like, but that couldn’t be it, right? The betrayal and lack of trust just feels that way. I guess that’s what happens when someone leaves your loved one to die. In the test of flight versus fight, Harris lost.
  2. What does it really mean to have a skitter in their midst, especially if it really looks like the “saved” kid just might be connected to him?
  3. And finally, what do the skitters want, and how is it that they’re so aware of human emotion? They killed the kids in front of Hal, just like the Nazis did in WW2. What does that mean?

No matter what, it looks like we’re getting into the meat of this series, and I’m looking forward to more. And here’s hoping we’ll get Karen back. Seriously, I miss her already.

Leave a Reply

