#GreenWithEnvy: First Impressions

This may be a TV blog, but where the Muppets are concerned, they always have a space on this site.

I got my first taste of the newest Muppet movie from MuppetWiki, which posted some images. As soon as I saw an image that looked like a singing and dancing number in the middle of the street, I got excited.

So when I then saw a link to the trailer, “Green With Envy” (hashtag it, it’s a thing), I got more excited. Hesitantly excited, but excited.

See, I’m a huge Muppet fan. I’ve always loved The Muppet Show. I grew up watching and singing along to The Muppet Movie. The Great Muppet Caper and Muppets Take Manhattan are classics. Collectible Muppet figurines are sitting in a box in my closet. A Muppet Christmas Carol is a yearly tradition. Clearly, I am a Muppet fan.

But I’ve been scorn. I actually trusted A Very Merry Muppet Christmas, and I was betrayed but something unfunny and awful. I even watched The Muppet Wizard of Oz, and it was awful.

So when I heard that Jason Segel was going to be writing the next Muppet movie, I was torn. Could he really give us a movie that was true to the originals? Will it fail as much as the last few that went straight to TV? Don’t get me wrong. I love TV, but if a movie’s appearing only there, we’re in trouble.

But back to today. So I start the trailer. I will say, I had my initial thought that maybe, just maybe, I accidentally got my hopes up, and I was really just seeing another trailer for a bad romantic comedy. But then, a stutter over the name frog. Kermit makes his first appearance.

And then bam! There it goes. There is what appears to be singing! Dancing! Fun! Combine Muppets with the vocal talents and adorableness of Amy Adams and the comedic goofiness of Jason Segel. By golly, this could be good.

Am I still hesitant? Well, yes. Miss Piggy as of late has done her best to suck the funny out of anything, and beyond introducing her name, she’s missing in a lot of these scenes. Will Segel succeed in making her work? Will the songs be original? Will the interaction of actor and Muppet feel more Charles Grodin or Whoopi Goldberg?

So sure, I’m still a little wary, but this trailer did light something up in my eyes, so I’ll go with that for a while. Check out the trailer below, and let me know your initial reactions in the comments.

One thought on “#GreenWithEnvy: First Impressions

  1. Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Segel himself a big Muppets fan? If so, I think that’s a good sign.

Leave a Reply

