HIMYM: Ding Dong, Zoey’s Gone

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER: 6.23 “Landmarks”

I decided to take some time to think about Monday’s episode of How I Met Your Mother before jumping on the blog, but I must say, my opinion hasn’t changed all that much. Honestly, this episode didn’t impress many people at all — including myself — and the critics have been rather ruthless.

Take a look at some of this feedback:

What the hell was that? And how did they not only think this was a good idea at the start of the season, but as it became clear early and often how much it wasn’t working? Even if they had Jennifer Morrison under contract for more episodes than the character wound up being worth, they could have pivoted and made lemonade out of this – turned Zoey into an outright villain or something to keep her around while embracing the loathsomeness of the character. Instead, they just kept scrambling and scrambling and scrambling to make it work, and even the promise of an epic break-up didn’t really come to pass, as things closed with a whimper.

Hit Fix

You know how there are times when you know an event is coming on a show, but you sit back, and enjoy the ride anyway? This wasn’t one of those times.

…all I did was spend this episode waiting for the moment when Ted and Zoey break up over the fact that cockamouse-infested dump of a hotel. No amount of ‘HIMYM’-patented flashbacks made the inevitable ending any less boring to watch.

TV Squad

I’m actually impressed — no, wait, the opposite — that Bays and Thomas could pen an episode like “Landmarks,” the entire point of which (to get rid of Zoey once and for all) I fully support, and yet along the way found entirely disappointing. Perhaps that’s the danger of attempting to send off a character with poignancy and drama when she never really earned it, and when we all saw it coming from miles off.

Buddy TV

Boy am I glad this thing is finally over. Zoey is an awful character. The Arcadian arc is awful. When it comes to this arc, nothing seems to make sense. Zoey is a crazy psycho bitch, Ted seems to like her, and the center of it all is this old building. Who the fuck cares other than the crazy bitch?

The sad thing about this all is how it makes Ted look. He really cares about Zoey and her insanity, but I don’t see how anyone watching could accept that. Whenever the Arcadian came up, Zoey turned into an unlikable, vindictive, unfunny character, while Ted just accepted that. On the bright side, Zoey should be gone now, so maybe the writers will move on something important… like the Mother.

Inside Pulse

This season of How I Met Your Mother has been very uneven; sometimes impressively brilliant and other times painful to watch. I knew almost immediately from Marshall’s speech ending in a rhyme that “Landmarks” was going to be lumped into the suck column.

Boom Tron

[Read my thoughts after the jump.]

All this to say, I’m not alone in thinking this wasn’t a great episode. Honestly, the only reason for revisiting the episode was to get another view of the puppy looking adorably at the camera (and in case you’re wondering, yes, I have gone back to watch that scene). But beyond that, it was kinda garbage.

What a way to make Zoey go. They made her look horrid in her first few episodes, then they tried to redeem her. Then she pulled the stunt with the tape recorder, all to make us realize that she was never redeemable in the first place. What was the point of even having her on this season? Zoey sucks. She always had tunnel vision with this one building and never showed an ounce of compassion toward Ted until last episode, which just seemed out of the blue. She deserved to get her precious building torn down, and yes, I’m glad that the other side won. I just wish we had had more of a fight. Why just leave it with one line on the street? We needed some sort of explosion — something worth watching. Not that.

Was it to make us wonder whether Zoey’s really gone? No. She must be. After all, the final scene was Ted giving his friends permission to talk badly about her (clearly a signal that there’s no chance to reunite). And yes, while I think the viewers across America cheered when we saw that the one-dimensional Zoey is really out of the picture, we were a little let down that the lead up to the event we knew was happening was dismal and boring.

I think this show had one final error: It spent too much time thinking about Ted. While I hate anything that does something “just for the viewer,” that’s what was missing here. The viewer didn’t want to see this. The viewer didn’t want to see her at all, and honestly, as a viewer, I didn’t care in the least about this stupid building. So while the writers might’ve wanted to spend all their time giving Ted a chance with Zoey or building up a big downfall of a relationship, we got nothing out of it. I would have preferred something that would have made me react.

Zoey being hit by a car for example. I mean, at least then, Ted might have guilt for destroying her building, even if it did end a storyline. At least that would have made us feel for Ted.

3 thoughts on “HIMYM: Ding Dong, Zoey’s Gone

  1. Great takedown. I was never really into this show all that much; I’ll watch it when it’s on, but I won’t go out of my way for it. But this season, with the exception of a few John Lithgow scenes and the two episodes around Marshall’s father’s death, has been so bad it’s making me want to actively avoid new and even rerun episodes. I know some people didn’t like last season, and after it was over the creators gave some interviews in which they promised this season would be better. Instead, it’s garbage. By inserting this miserable character (Zoey) in a relationship with Ted that didn’t really make a lot of sense, when the audience absolutely knew that she was not the Mother, and then completely failing to provide a satisfying nuclear meltdown of a break-up smacks of taking advantage of the audience. There are only so many uninteresting, poorly thought-out storylines that have nothing to do with the Mother that an audience can take, and I would like to think that HIMYM’s audience is running out of patience.

  2. Such vitriol. I guess I’m just not bothered that much by this season. It may not have been frequently great and has been light on classic-to-be episodes, and I still think it a mistake of the creators to give a big story arc to a person who halfway through was confirmed in-show by the narrator to not be the mother, but neither the arc nor the character made me want to give up on the show or poke out my eyes or anything.

    Honestly, though, I was a little surprised. As much as Lily’s idea was supposed to be heinously evil, I thought there might be some semi-redemption for both Ted and Zoey, in which the removed lion’s head architecture would be incorporated into the new building design and the relationship would be (temporarily) saved, only to later break up in a few episodes over something more legitimate that the audience could be more sympathetic to.

    Oh well. As everyone has stated, we all knew this was coming, so why dwell on it. The real question shouldn’t be why this arc was done, but what’s next?

  3. I certainly am not giving up on the series, but I am glad that Zoey’s gone. The sad part is, I really don’t know what’s next, and I worry that they’ll do another similar thing next season, since we know the show has two more years ahead of it. This show need something to push it forward — a change of some sort — but I’m not sure whether the writers are willing to make that change. I think the change is meeting the mother, at least to some degree, even if the viewers don’t know who it is.

Leave a Reply

