One Tree Hill: Actions and Consequences

ONE TREE HILL: 8.19 “Where Not to Look for Freedom”

Um, I don’t want to sound like the snobby predictor type, but did anyone else see that ending coming? I mean, they’ve been leading up episode by episode to the fact that this kid seems to have no boundaries. When Nathan pulled that bottle out of the front seat weeks ago, I knew for sure that it was the kid. I mean, that’s not Professor Kellerman’s thing; he’s a grump, but he’s a respectable person in society. His son’s a loose cannon.

Now, there was a part in this episode (you know, as I was trying to read into every line to see if there was double-speak), where I thought maybe I was wrong. Maybe the professor really did do it. But no, in the end, I was right.

It’s sad, if not surprising. Kellerman gave up his entire career, and he didn’t even get a thank-you from his son. Just angry words. I wonder if we’ll find out more about what happened to make him angry at his father. Something with his mother…

I bet this was rather jarring for Professor Kellerman, too. I mean, his son probably told him that he hit a pole (or a tree, or whatever he first told Nathan), and it wasn’t until Nathan spelled out the fact that it was a pretty tall tale to have two accidents with identical bruised cars that he really realized it. He was covering for his son, sure, but I bet it didn’t start in the degree at which it ended.

Anyway, whether I called it or not, I can’t wait to see what happens. I mean, I know Nathan and Clay have a disclaimer in their contract with him about bad behavior, but this happened before the contract was signed. Are they trapped?

Meanwhile, Brooke might just be heading to New York. Not sure what I think about that, but I am a little surprised that Clothes Over Bros is still in existence. I think I thought the company closed after all the bad press earlier this season, but I guess maybe Brooke just stepped down? Uncertainty there, so please feel free to fill me in.

Then there was the closing of the River Court. I don’t know about you, but between the River Court and Brooke’s possible move, it sure sounds like the series is closing up. I’m still hoping for renewal (of course), but I’m sure they’re setting up to have closure, in case it doesn’t continue. But back to the show, did Millie annoy anyone else? She desperately needs Mouth to give her stories, and how did she not see the River Court story there? Bah. Anyway, I think I see a “Save the River Court” finale somewhere in our future (that would make for a good just-in-case finale, now wouldn’t it?).

Finally, the music. Quinn did a good job setting up the concert (she’s been really fun and entertaining recently — definitely loved her singing “Mahna Mahna” to the baby, in good Muppet fashion), but I wasn’t impressed with the band. I mean, Alex was surprisingly fantastic. I wish she’d sung more in the episode. The other band, well, I coulda done without.

But then again, it did make for some decent montages. Isn’t that always the way?

Leave a Reply

