Glamour Belles: It’s No ‘Say Yes to the Dress’

Where Say Yes to the Dress meets bad reality television. That’s Glamour Belles.

As ridiculous as it sounds, I was actually intrigued by the prospect of a show about a dress shop in Tennessee that caters to pageant queens instead of brides. And why wouldn’t I be? After all, Say Yes to the Dress is my guilty pleasure show, even in its rocky periods. In other words, what did Glamour Belles say to me? It’s basically the same thing — with colored dresses!

Well, it’s not. Sadly, this show fell a little flat with me, and while I kept the two premiere episodes on for the full hour, many times did I question audibly why I was watching it. Ok, so it has some attention-grabbing value, but it’s not my cup of tea for the long run.

I’ll give Lifetime some credit for trying. After all, it’s not that it isn’t a popular style of show right now. Say Yes to the Dress has two versions, not including the six-episode “Big Bliss” arc. And for some reason, people keep watching Toddler in Tiaras. When those powers combine, we’ve got Glamour Belles. And for those of you who are heartily interested in the family dynamics angle of the show, why not toss in a curmudgeony mother?

Honestly, perhaps I’m too taught by the school of Say Yes, but this show just didn’t do it for me. There was too much focus on Paige, the shop owner, and not enough on the girls and their opinions. In the end, the show ended up being more about how Paige picked the dress instead of the girl who would be prancing on stage wearing it, and that just seemed to annoy me. She may have expertise on the subject, but how are we to know that? They didn’t set Paige up as anything other than someone who owns the shop.

Plus, the focus on the dress details didn’t work. Perhaps it’s my Say Yes mentality, but the dresses looked cheap. So to then focus in on the details just made me realize how cheap they were. And honestly, I’m not the kind of person that really cares if a dress is expensive; in fact, I’m quite the opposite. If it looks pretty and has a pretty price, I like it. But somehow, these dresses just fell flat. Perhaps they shouldn’t have started the pilot with a girl looking for her wedding reception dress. That just set up the comparison point right there, and it just went downhill after that.

On the bright side, I was impressed with the number of pageant winners they had in the shop. I liked seeing the followup pictures where you saw how the girl did in the pageant and how she looked (though I’m still horrified at seeing four-year-old children in makeup — but I’m not one to watch Toddlers in Tiaras either).

As for the accent, well, I’m from South Carolina. It didn’t bother me all that much. But if we could get Paige to whiten her teeth, that would be nice.

Oh, and one more thing? Jared is no Randy. I’m just sayin’.

One thought on “Glamour Belles: It’s No ‘Say Yes to the Dress’

  1. Pingback: Say Yes to Amsale? Well… « Raked

Leave a Reply

