Mr. Sunshine: Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight

MR. SUNSHINE: 1.06 “Lingerie Football”

I chose my headline for this post based on a James Taylor song. I thought for sure that I’d click over to IMDB and find out that we chose the same title. Then I saw that it was called Lingerie Football. Mr. Sunshine could use a little more depth in the episode titles, methinks, but I’ll let it slide this time with a mere reference and note in my blog post. Aaaaaaand done.

Anyway, I thought this was one of the better episodes of Mr. Sunshine. It had a great use of the characters, using one major storyline alongside two minor ones, without too many distractions. Roman and Heather were cute, while making you wonder if the lingerie quarterback would be tormented by Heather in some horrible way. Roman was over-the-top enough to fit his character while not being obnoxious, and ultimately, it was entertaining.

Alonzo and Alice seemed to hit their stride, while finally showing why we even have Alice on the show. She’s actually good at something, and the way she pitted the two jackass investors against each other was quite entertaining. Honestly, I really enjoyed watching Alonzo struggle, since he seems to be so good at everything based on the episode before this one. It was a nice role change.

Finally, Ben and Crystal. At first, I wasn’t all impressed with the storyline that she was audited and therefore Ben wasn’t able to go on his date. I just wanted him to go; in the real world, that’s what he’d do. But the shift was interesting, if nothing else, and it was a pleasure to see James Taylor on the show. Loved the duet between him and Crystal (definitely almost made it on our Moment of the Week if not for the fact that she was our choice last week and ABC killed off the most annoying character in the history of TV this week). The sweetness was made funny only because of the juxtaposition of a sweet song next to realizing that not only was her ex happy, but he was married to a skimpily clad girl half his age, and he had no intention of making that song mean more than just entertainment value for the gifts.

Plus, I enjoyed seeing Crystal in the motorcycle getup.

Anyway, I think this episode was well done. I don’t really have all that much more to add, unless we start analyzing how Ben’s date was waiting in his office while Alonzo and crew were watching the “game” at the same time. Apparently she can be in two places at once. She’s just that good.

No wonder it was such a sacrifice for Ben.

7 thoughts on “Mr. Sunshine: Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight

  1. I think it’s time to start seeing more interaction between different characters in this show. It’s really beginning to seem like there’s a “Mr. Sunshine” show and an “Alonzo & Alice” show. There seems to be very little interaction between the two groups, and it’s almost beginning to feel like the “Alonzo & Alice” show simply exists as space filler during what is only a 30 minute show to begin with. I mean, aside from Ben, I’ve only seen Alonzo interact with Crystal in only a couple of episodes. I don’t recall Alice interacting with anyone outside of Ben & Alonzo. Well, except for her brief interaction with Roman in the first episode, which only happened because he was there while she was talking to Ben.

    It’s beginning to make me a little sad to continually see the potential in this show, yet watch it not quite reach it every week. Again I say, this show so needs to fit in somewhere between Studio 60 and Scrubs.

  2. I would love if it existed between Studio 60 and Scrubs, but I can see how they’d be hesitant to do that, especially if Matthew Perry is behind a lot of the writing. Studio 60, while a cult favorite, probably just lies in the minds of most TV industry folk as a failure. I mean, they got cancellation news early enough to rewrite the end of the series, and it only lasted one season. I could see Perry being a bit scorned and probably still thinking that that kind of humor just doesn’t make it on network TV, let along in a 30-minute comedy.

    In my own opinion, though, it’d be fantastic.

  3. The impression I’ve gotten about Studio 60 was never that the humor didn’t work. (It was, after all, the same humor that worked for West Wing.) I could be wrong, but I remember the show being reviewed well by critics. It really was the subject matter that didn’t bring in an audience. Few people seemed to care about what went on behind the scenes of an SNL type show, especially when most of the carry over audience for Studio 60 had been previously watching what went on in the White House. Studio 60’s subject matter seemed to lack importance, so a lot of people never tuned in to watch the humor. Being a 30 minute sitcom carrying a sitcom’s expectations, Mr. Sunshine should have the advantage of not needing to jump that same hurdle. The “lack of importance” is already accepted just due to its format.

    (As a side note, Studio 60 is kind of a parallel to Whedon’s Firefly. A lot of the Buffy / Angel fans never tuned simply because it was a sci fi show, and they didn’t figure it could be interesting in the same way as the previous shows.)

  4. Ah, see, I had a different memory. I agree that the reviewers loved it. But it wasn’t the subject matter as much as it was “too smart” for the general audience. People who did want to see what was behind an SNL-type show didn’t want to think, and the jokes behind an SNL-type show should have been (in their eyes) more obvious and blatant. In the choice between Studio 60 and 30 Rock, they wanted a 30 Rock, and they expected Studio 60 to be just as slapstick, despite its being a drama. When they saw the had to put more effort behind watching it than just flopping down on the couch, they didn’t tune in.

    I could be wrong, though, but that was my impression.

  5. I always thought the problem with Studio 60 was the comedy bits. The show was supposed to be about a guy who wrote these brilliant bits of comedy for a late night show, but whenever we saw a piece of the actual show, it was rarely funny (at least in the early episodes. I seem to remember it improving a bit in later episodes). I think some people saw this as kind of a confusing dichotomy, and along with the “smartness” of the show, may have been turned off by it. 30 Rock, like Raked said, is basically just a slapstick, absurdist comedy that actively treats its late night show (The Tracy Jordan Show, I think) as a horrible farce; it doesn’t take it seriously, just like the rest of the show doesn’t take anything seriously, so it’s easier for people to get into.

  6. And to be fair, I hate to keep comparing Studio 60 to 30 Rock, but it was a major strategic error on behalf of NBC. The two premiered the same year, and all people knew were the people involved and the fact that it was behind the scenes of an SNL-type show. The two aren’t the same by any means and generally shouldn’t be put in the same conversation, but in the end, I think people chose one over the other anyway.

  7. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: Choose a Show — Then Fix It « Raked

Leave a Reply

