Parenthood: Past and Future

PARENTHOOD: 2.15 “Just Go Home”

My new husband and I have rules. When it comes to the dishwasher, I load and he empties. I decided this, since I can fit a lot more dishes in there than he can. When it comes to the toilet paper, it’s always over, never under. He decided that one.

So when I heard Jasmine and Crosby arguing over these little things, it was quite humorous. These really are the piddly details that actually have to be worked out, even though they seem ridiculous. However, I will say that in our wedding planning, I certainly didn’t raise the number of guests from 40 to 150 without discussion. Nor did I change the wedding date. By the way, honey, I need you at the church a month earlier than you’d planned. It’s September now.

I’ve never been a big fan of Jasmine. To be honest, I’ve never been a fan of Jasmine at all. I find her pushy and bossy, and I don’t know how Crosby has put up with her. Yes, it’s taken Crosby a little time to get used to being a dad, so perhaps responsibility needs to grow on him, but Jasmine really hasn’t given him a chance. She’s been Jabbar’s caretaker for five years before Crosby, true, but she won’t let him take responsibility now. Honestly, it irritates me.

All that being said, I don’t know where they’ll go from here. These aren’t completely unusual things to be fighting about, and most couples can work through them. But, of course, this is TV.

Meanwhile, we had Haddie return home. Thank GOD. I’m glad she finally decided to come to her senses and stop being so stubborn about this Alex thing. Now, am I pleased that she is getting to date Alex now? Hmmm. Yay to the happy ending, but it still bugs me that Haddie got her way after the stunt that she pulled. I personally would have given it more time once she was home to see if it would pass. But that’s just me.

As for the other family, what’d you think of Amber and Drew’s dad? We saw some major recasting from the series pilot, and now John Corbett is in the picture. I think he plays a good enough rockstar absentee father, but I’m much more curious to see what he’s going to be like in the future. I didn’t see the promo for upcoming episodes, but I can’t imagine that this is his only appearance — and I certainly hope it’s not. Should we really believe that he’s clean? Well, I don’t know. Something seems shifty, and I don’t want to trust him yet. I do hope, though, that Parenthood doesn’t fall in the trap of getting him and Sarah involved again. They were hinting at that with Zeek’s question of whether she still has feelings for him. Anyway, I hope the show’s better than to fall in that cliche trap.

It was nice to see an episode that really focused in on that family drama, and man, the argument between Amber and Drew was certainly hard to watch. I hope we get to find out more about what they really went through as a young family before Sarah divorced him, because clearly, it made an impact. And while I missed seeing Joel and Julia in this episode, I’d say this focus in the episode was worth the sacrifice.

One thought on “Parenthood: Past and Future

  1. I liked John Corbett as the absentee Dad. I’d be really interested in seeing what they do with him if they keep him around. Hopefully they won’t slide into a tired old “relapse” story that every other show does with their addict characters.

Leave a Reply

