2010 Awards, Part 2

Alright. So you saw the first set, now let’s move on to more! More awards and more reader picks. Once again, if the award has an asterisk, it’s a Reader Pick, with or without my explanation. If they added one, it’s there! If they didn’t, well, that just leaves me to give a reason <malicious laugh>.

So here we go!

The 2010 Awards!
Part 2

Best Guy in a Suit: Neal Caffrey, White Collar. Step aside, Barney. There’s someone else suiting up now, and damn, he looks good.

Best Woman in Heels: Maura Isles, Rizzoli & Isles. This woman sure gets a lot done in four-inch heels and a pressed dress, even when dealing with dead bodies.

* Most Wasted Potential: Glee. It’s true. For a show with a huge fanbase and mad props for creating a new TV genre, they lost their way by focusing on huge guest stars and a big production instead of a cohesive storyline.

Least Necessary Procedural: Law & Order: CSI edition. Oh, is that not a real show? I thought it was. It’s on every night for two hours at least, right? And it airs on every network? Wait, these aren’t all the same show?

Most Ridiculous Premise for a Procedural: Castle. Ok, I know you fans out there must like it, but the idea that a successful novelist gets to spend his time on all these huge cases as a partner of a detective is rather incredible.

Worst Show We’re All Watching: The Office. Where did the funny go? It’s run its course, but we all still watch it. And most of us don’t know why.

Didn’t I Used to Be an Important Character? Award: Alaric, The Vampire Diaries. Well, it’s true, right? Now he’s arm candy, and occasionally says something smart from a book.

Best Vampire Teeth: The Vampire Diaries. With the eyes and the subtle teeth, yes, the vamps in TVD certainly get the prize.

Worst Vampire Teeth: True Blood. I haven’t tried to watch this series, solely because these teeth are so bad and look so fake. Plus, I hear they make a sound when they come out.

Read more after the jump!

Most Commendable yet Horrifying Episode: “Did You Hear What Happened to Charlotte King,” Private Practice. By far, KaDee Strickland deserves this award. She portrayed Charlotte King the day after her terrifying rape, denying it all happened. It’s something real women face every day…and real women deny every day. The part that made my flesh crawl the most? Sure, the final scene as we see her rape was horrifying, but the moment that the police, who had Lee, the rapist, in there interrogation room, said that they had to let him go. He may have confessed, but without a victim to come forward, they have no reason to hold him, so he can go free, able to do it again.

Best Way to Kill a New Series: Lux’s student/teacher relationship, Life Unexpected. Life Unexpected had so much potential going into its second season, with the cast and fanbase. But it lost it all by introducing the cliche of all cliches: the student/teacher relationship. It only got more weird once you found out she was once sexually molested by an older man. Um, ew.

Cutest Baby: Lily, Modern Family. Seriously, how cute is she?

Best Thief: Parker, Leverage. Out of the team, this was hard, but Parker’s gotta win. After all, she knows no fear in jumping off high buildings and through elevator shafts. Plus, she’s crazy. And crazy’s fun.

* Most Brain-bending Finale: Doctor Who. Keep in mind for these British favorites, we’re looking at when it aired in the US (right, KT?) (Right, though the original UK airdate was also 2010 in this case.  Caveat does apply to Merlin, though. -KT). Anyway, I still don’t have any way to watch this series, so I’ll lean to the reader and agree that Doctor Who fits for Most Brain-bending Finale.

Most Shocking Death that Wasn’t: The Vampire Diaries…and One Tree Hill. Which “death” could I possibly be talking about in these two series? Well, first up, I should say Caroline, but I saw that one coming. The one I didn’t see was Damon’s breaking the neck of Jeremy in the season opener, only to have him gasp back to life because of his ring. And on One Tree Hill, tell me you didn’t see Clay and Quinn’s shooting coming in that finale?!

* Nerdiest Stunt Casting: Big Bang Theory. It’s been commended and critiqued for its many guest stars, but knowing that they’ve brought some geeky favorites like Stan Lee, Eliza Dushku, and Wil Wheaton, you can’t disagree.

Biggest Hype, Littlest Show: Lone Star. The failure of the fall. With so much hype and good reviews, it’s surprising how fast this show was pulled from the airwaves. Oh right. Because no one watched.

* Most Improved, Most Tense Dinner Party, and Most Obnoxious Teenage Boy Outside of Twilight: V. I failed at watching V after its first hiatus, but I yield to KT on these categories. The new season looks intense, so I’m looking forward to checking it out (that seems like proof enough to me that it’s most improved), and I know instantly which character is the most obnoxious. As for the dinner party? Well, we’ll leave that to KT.

Largest Transition from Obnoxious to Tolerable: Jeremy, The Vampire Diaries. I feel like I’m giving TVD a lot of awards here, but it is one of my top shows this year. Anyway, Jeremy was a character I hated the most this past year, but at this point, he’s very much improved. I can tolerate–almost enjoy at moments–now.

Biggest Question Yet to Be Answered: Anything from Lost. Where do I stand on the finale? On the side that wanted answers. Your show shouldn’t need a 12-minute web video or a followup book to answer the questions proposed in the series. I watch too much Whedon for that stuff.

Dreamiest Guy on TV: Damon, The Vampire Diaries. Part of me put this on here just to bug my husband (ha!) but between Damon and Neal Caffrey, Damon wins. After all, he shows complex emotion. And danger.

* Best Auto-tuning: Glee…and Hannah Montana. Sorry, reader (ok, KT), Glee can’t take all the credit for this one. I think if you listened to both catchy, addictive soundtracks, you’d see that they both can auto-tune with the best of them.  (Whoops, guess I didn’t stop to consider all the likely candidates. -KT)

* Best Werewolf Story: Merlin. I should be shocked that we could even have more than one show that could fit in this category, but we do. The Vampire Diaries werewolf story really didn’t speed up until the mid-season finale for me, so I’ll agree with this reader favorite for the category. Here’s her reasoning: Best Werewolf Story.

Best Singer in a non-Singing Role: Jane Krakowski, 30 Rock. I consider this a non-singing role, since it’s not a show like Glee. Personally, I just love hearing her voice, whatever ridiculousness she’s singing on the show.

Well, it looks like our reader responses and my creativity has run out, so there you go! The 2010 awards! Thanks to all you readers who added to the list. Who did we miss? What would you like to add? Let me know in the comments! (After all, I’m sure I’ll come up with others, right around the time I click “Publish.”)

Here’s to a new year. Let’s hope 2011 brings us just as many great (and laughable) TV moments.

*images from Yahoo! TV and IMDB

3 thoughts on “2010 Awards, Part 2

  1. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: Who’s your TV fashion guru? « Raked

  2. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: 2011 Award Nominees | Raked

  3. Pingback: The 2011 Awards: Part 2 | Raked

Leave a Reply

