2010 Awards, Part 1

Ok, guys, we’re nearing 2011. That means it’s time to honor those best and worsts of 2010. With the help our readers, I present to you the first part of the 2010 Awards here on Raked.

As you can see, we’ve got a good mix of reader nominations (marked by an asterisk*) and my own. For the most part, I tried to keep the reader’s reasoning with the award, but if nothing was there (or if I have my own thoughts), I did add a little myself. Keep in mind that this is just for 2010, shows that aired during that time period. Unfortunately, that put some good shows out of the running that might’ve ended before the cutoff last year–but it also gave us a good selection of bad shows to destroy, too.

So without further ado…

The 2010 Awards!
Part 1

Best Use of an Underused Character: Caroline, The Vampire Diaries. Caroline was a pathetic, superficial, shallow sidekick in last season’s Vampire Diaries. Now she’s a badass vampire who’s gained confidence–and screen time. Definitely worth the transition.

* Best Animation: Community’s stop motion Christmas special. Can’t argue with this reader’s pick. A mixing of humbugs, humor, song, and creativity provided us with one great holiday treat.

* Best Leave of Absence: Olivia Wilde, House. I’ll leave this explanation to our reader: “I call this the best because she is left to do some awesome scifi movies [Tron Legacy, Cowboys and Aliens, Now aka im.mortal], and also it allowed Amber Tamblyn to take her spot for a bit.” As for me, I second this, if only to get Amber Tamblyn back on TV.

Best Badass I Should Be Watching: Nikita, Nikita. I’ve heard good things, and the commercials are really tempting. Why am I not watching? I have no reason.

* Best Zombies: The Walking Dead. A reader’s pick, and to be fair, I can’t help but agree. But in the interest of complete transparency, I also don’t know what other shows had zombies this year. ;-)

* Best Guest Star: Gwyneth Paltrow, Glee. As much as I’m tired of hearing about her, I can’t deny that people loved Gwyneth on Glee.

Read more awards after the jump!

Worst Drama on TV: The Secret Life of the American Teenager. Does this really need to be explained. Bad writing, terrible plotlines, and if anything, it shows kids that everything will be hunky dory if you have sex and get preggers. Yay.

* Best Animated Series: Symbionic Titan. Genndy Tartakovsky’s return to making a full series on Cartoon Network. Alright, so this is a little bit over my head, as I really haven’t seen the show, but this reader knows his stuff when it comes to animation, so I’ll agree via trust.

Most Lackluster Death: Haley’s Mom, One Tree Hill. She shows up in one episode and announces she has cancer, then dies in the next. We didn’t get attached to her, so why did we care?

* Most Amount of Inappropriate Relationship Information Shared with One’s Children: How I Met Your Mother. Reader note: At this point, it’s gotten a little absurd! If my dad sat me down to explain the cavalcade of women he went out with before my mom, instant spontaneous combustion would be the only way to scour my brain clean.

Most Surprising Moment We Knew Would Happen But Were Still Surprised When It Happened When It Did: Miley’s reveal, Hannah Montana.The show is ending, so we knew that she’d have to tell the world that she was Hannah Montana. But I certainly thought that would be the finale, not a mid-season moment with aftermath.

Worst Facelift: Debra Jo Rupp, Better With You. The first time I turned this on, I was shocked to see that Eric’s mom from That 70s Show looked so awful.

Most Uncomfortable Boob Moment: Marti’s cheerleading audition, Hellcats. While I know I give Kate Voegele a hard time for not keeping her puppies tucked into her shirt, the most uncomfortable moment was when I thought Alyson Michalka’s boobs were going to pop out from under her crop top shirt during her cheerleader audition.

* Best heartfelt Moment in an Action Scene: Fiona an Michael, the season finale of Burn Notice. Reader response: Michael runs off to blow himself up as a distraction to allow Jesse and Fi to get away. Fi doubles back to join Michael. “If we are going to do this, we are doing this together.”

Biggest Character Sacrifice: Boyd, Dollhouse. Nope, not talking death, though Boyd did blow himself up in the penultimate episode of Dollhouse. Instead, it was the fact that this fan favorite was made super-villain. Was this in JW’s plans throughout the series? My guess is no, but the show needed a shocker in order to tie up with a tidy bow, and Boyd was the easiest villain to explain. His biggest sacrifice was saving the show–to some degree–for the fans.

* Best After-Credits Last Sequence: 30 Rock…and Community. It’s a tie. I gotta give a shoutout for Community for their consistently funny last sequences, but our reader does give a fantastic particular example: Jack is having a baby. During the episode he makes videos to teach his son life lessons after he is gone. At the end of the episode, he learns he is having a daughter. The after credits scene is Jack making another video for his daughter. He says to listen to her mother and shell have nothing to worry about. For everything else, here is Elizabeth Lemon: “If you are running low on laundry, bathing suits make acceptable underwear.” “Put chips on sandwiches!!”

Worst Daytime Syndication Schedule Change: ABC Family. When I used to have a sick day or day off, I could easily plan my day by the syndicated series that were on ABC Family. But they change them so often and with shows I care little about (My Wife and Kids? Come on!), and I was shocked to see on Monday that Gilmore Girls was not on at 11:00. Whether it was a one-time thing, I don’t know, but it makes my days off sad.

Worst College-based Show: Glory Daze. Cliche cliche cliche. I want to support it, if only for Tim Meadows. But, folks, at least what I’ve seen of it, it’s pretty darn bad.

Best College-based Show: Greek. It seems like every character is touching. They’ve got touching storylines, and basically, they’re touching each other a lot, too. But you really want the right guy with the right gal, and I love all the stories to get there. Plus, it’s just funny. Kudos.

Most Materbatory Moment: Echo downloads Ballard, Dollhouse. This is a dangerous category, but did anyone notconsider what Ballard and Echo’s “relationship” would be like once she “let him in” and downloaded him?

Ok, folks. This is part one! Another post to come, so keep an eye out for the rest of your reader favorites (or worsts) and more 2010 superlatives!

*images from Yahoo! TV

4 thoughts on “2010 Awards, Part 1

  1. Pingback: 2010 Awards, Part 2 « Raked

  2. Dollhouse! Oh, Dollhouse. I’d forgotten its last few episodes aired in 2010.

    Also, the award and description for HIMYM crack me up. :D

  3. Yep, Dollhouse squeaked in right under the wire. I think only the last two, maybe three, episodes made it into 2010.

  4. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: 2011 Award Nominees | Raked

Leave a Reply

