Golden Globes Nominees: My thoughts

So the 2011 Golden Globes nominees have been announced, and as for the TV stuff, I’d say there were certainly some surprises. Here’s the TV list below, then check out my reactions after the jump.

Best Television Series Drama
BOARDWALK EMPIRE
DEXTER
THE GOOD WIFE
MAD MEN
THE WALKING DEAD

Best Television Series – Comedy/Musical
30 ROCK
THE BIG BANG THEORY
THE BIG C
GLEE
MODERN FAMILY
NURSE JACKIE

Best Television Series – Miniseries/Movie
CARLOS
THE PACIFIC
PILLARS OF THE EARTH
TEMPLE GRANDIN
YOU DON’T KNOW JACK

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Comedy/Musical
Toni Collette, UNITED STATES OF TARA
Edie Falco, NURSE JACKIE
Tina Fey, 30 ROCK
Laura Linney, THE BIG C
Lea Michele, GLEE

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Comedy/Musical
Alec Baldwin, 30 ROCK
Steve Carell, THE OFFICE
Thomas Jane, HUNG
Matthew Morrison, GLEE
Jim Parsons, THE BIG BANG THEORY
Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Drama
Julianna Margulies, THE GOOD WIFE
Elizabeth Moss, MAD MEN
Piper Perabo, COVERT AFFAIRS
Katey Sagal, SONS OF ANARCHY
Kyra Sedgwick, THE CLOSER

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Drama
Steve Buscemi, BOARDWALK EMPIRE
Bryan Cranston, BREAKING BAD
Michael C. Hall, DEXTER
Jon Hamm, MAD MEN
Hugh Laurie, HOUSE

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Scott Caan, HAWAII FIVE-0
Chris Colfer, GLEE
Chris Noth, THE GOOD WIFE
Eric Stonestreet, MODERN FAMILY
David Strathairn, TEMPLE GRANDIN

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Hope Davis, THE SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP
Jane Lynch, GLEE
Kelly Macdonald, BOARDWALK EMPIRE
Julia Stiles, DEXTER
Sofia Vergara, MODERN FAMILY

Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Idris Elba, LUTHOR
Ian McSHane, THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH
Al Pacino, YOU DON’T KNOW JACK
Dennis Quaid, THE SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP
Edgar Ramirez, CARLOS

Best Performance by an Actress in a Mini-Series or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Hayley Atwell, PILLARS OF THE EARTH
Claire Danes, TEMPLE GRANDIN
Judi Dench, RETURN TO CRANFORD
Romola Garai, EMMA
Jennifer Love Hewitt, THE CLIENT LIST

Check out my reactions after the jump!

Of course, with some, there are no surprises. Of course, Glee got nominated (though I wish it hadn’t). Lea Michele I really wouldn’t have thought would have the  comedic charm of a winner. Talented voice, sure, but best comedic actress? Well, I guess that’s why it’s called “Best Actress in a Comedy” and not “Best Comedic Actress.” I just hope Modern Family takes them for all their worth.

I was thrilled to see that The Office finally was ignored for best comedy until I saw Steve Carell is listed for Best Actor in a Comedy. Considering how the show is anything but funny anymore–Michael least of all–then I really was hoping for someone better to fill that spot. For example, where’s the Neil Patrick Harris love?

I know that many have been upset that Lost didn’t make it anywhere on the list. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed Lost, but I wouldn’t say that the final season was its best, and it’s won a lot already. Give someone else a chance.

Thrilled that Dexter and The Walking Dead made the list, though now that I see The Walking Dead, I start to wonder, what time period does this encompass? I should look that up. Because The Walking Dead and Lost were in two different season (ignoring all Lost time warps, of course, in which case it might overlap with Good Times for all I know).

Moving on, there were certainly some surprises. Kudos to Katey Sagal for making the list. I don’t watch Sons of Anarchy, but I’m a fan. Surprised at Piper Perabo (as are most people). I’m loving the USA love, but unfortunately, I don’t think she has a chance at actually winning.

Finally, Jennifer Love Hewitt? I never thought I’d see her up for the same award as the likes of Dame Judi Dench. This makes me hurt a little. But you know, it’s about time they start nominating people for roles I’ve actually seen them play. I’m usually at a stark disadvantage in categories like these.

Any other reactions?

4 thoughts on “Golden Globes Nominees: My thoughts

  1. Mostly the folks i thought were going up as well. Also suprised to see the Glee crew on the best actor/actress lists (except for Jane Lynch).

    My guesses based on the list:
    Best TV – Boardwalk Empire
    Best TV Comdey – big C
    Best TV miniseries – pacific
    Best Actress Comedy – Laura Linney
    Best actor Comdey – Baldwin
    Best Actress Drama – Katey Sagal (im also a fan)
    Best Actor Drama – Steve Buscemi
    Best Supporting Actor – Since Glee is the only show i watch, Chris Colfer
    Best Supporting Actress – ditto above, Jane Lynch
    Ive never seen any of the miniseries in the next categories, so ill end it here

  2. I tend to see eye to eye with critic Maureen Ryan, and her comments on Glee from a few days ago really sum up how I feel about the show in general and the nominations it gets:

    “Every time ‘Glee’ gets nominated for something or wins another award, I wince. Every awards-giving body out there appears to be determined to reward one of the sloppiest, most slipshod and self-indulgent shows on TV. Yes, I’m hard on ‘Glee,’ because when it takes the trouble to be mildly coherent (and that’s really all I ask), it can be quite wonderful. But given that the show frequently seems to content to throw character, story, snark and some musical selections into a blender and hit “Frappe,” I find myself less and less willing to put up with its tiresome chaos and unearned self-regard.”

    And the nominations for Lea Michele I don’t understand at all. Yes, lovely voice. Yes, capable actress. Yes, she’s a lead on the show. But award-worthy? Haven’t seen it yet.

    I’m still one season behind on Mad Men, but I’ve seen enough to think that they deserve all the awards anyone wants to give them.

    Also perpetually award-worthy? Judi Dench. Return to Cranford was lovely. So was the Emma adaptation that Romola Garai is nominated for, and I’d be happy to see her win it, too.

  3. I loved The Walking Dead, but I’m not convinced it deserved a nomination. It was fun and cool and at times quite good, but there were only six episodes, and a LOT of sloppy writing scattered throughout the season.

  4. Pingback: The Client List: An Early Look | Raked

Leave a Reply

