Southland Returns, January 4

Southland was my favorite show of last year, and probably one of my favorite shows of the last five. I was heartbroken when NBC cancelled it for the failed Leno experiment, and happy but cautious when it was picked up by TNT. Anyway, we got a screener for the first episode, which airs of January 4, of a new season written entirely after the TNT pickup and I just watched it.

It’s great. The show hasn’t missed a beat. It looks and feels just like it used to, and like some of the best episodes from last season, there’s plenty of adrenaline to go around. I feel much more at ease for the rest of the season now. I’ll post a more in-depth review soon, but if you were concerned about Southland‘s shift to a new network, I hope this puts your mind at ease.

2 thoughts on “Southland Returns, January 4

  1. I forgot that this really is the first season that was fully done on TNT. I guess I didn’t realize that the new ones that aired last year were meant for NBC. That’s an interesting distinction. I’m glad that it’s just as good…now I’m waiting for better than ever! I think that is certainly possible for a show like this!

  2. Pingback: Exclusive Interview with Michael Cudlitz of Southland « Raked

Leave a Reply

