Thursday Wednesday Open Thread: Thanksgiving TV Traditions

I decided to put up the open thread this week a little early, since I didn’t know how many of you will be dissing your family, friends, and food to check blogs. I mean, I’m sure I will, but my husband will probably be checking his reader between bastings, so I think that’s fair.

But I must ask…

What are your Thanksgiving TV Traditions?

Ok, it’s weird to ask, but I want to know. What does your TV do on Thanksgiving? Does it rock out to some Charlie Brown specials? Does your cable box sit idly by while your xBox takes over for some massive gaming session? Parades? Football? What?

Personally, while I can’t say it’s a tradition, I try to watch at least some of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. One year there was a Buffy marathon (hellz yes!) and lately I’ve had to watch others watching football, but I haven’t had all that much consistency. Perhaps that’s why I’m wondering what people do.

Of course, there was that one year when there was a marathon of Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. Now that was cool. So cool, that the following year (or maybe a year later), they were able to Rickroll the Macy’s parade. Let’s remember that, shall we?

So share your traditions in the comments below. I may be a day early, but I’m very grateful.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Wednesday Open Thread: Thanksgiving TV Traditions

  1. No real traditions here except running around from meal to meal to meal. But if I could pick a TV tradition to uphold, it would be the Foster’s Home marathon. A whole day of animated insanity. Twas awesome.

  2. Football, football, even though it’s always the pitiful Detroit Lions and the detestable Dallas Cowboys. At least this year, a good team (the Patriots, hint, hint) with be playing one of them!

  3. Now that I think about it, I guess my trend really is to find some sort of marathon and keep it on all day. Buffy and Foster’s are the two that really stand out in my mind, but I bet there have been others (even if it meant making my own by putting my on TV on DVD in).

  4. FYI, apparently Foster’s Home was also in the Macy’s parade the two years prior to their Rickroll. Kinda makes me wanna pick up a DVD to watch tomorrow.

  5. I always looked forward to watching Macy’s parade on TV when I was a kid — now I usually turn it on to watch while baking pie or whatnot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

