Thursday Open Thread: Cult Favorites You’ve Never Seen

This summer, JC and I plowed through Lost. We’d never seen it, so we started in July and finished a couple months later. Now, I’m watching Battlestar Galactica, and I’m in the middle of season two. Sure, the shows might be over, but I’m finally picking up on why people loved them so much.

What cult favorite show have you never seen? And do you want to watch it?

The shows don’t have to be over, though. For example, Mad Men. I’ve never seen it. I figured I should start from the beginning if I watched it. Why didn’t I check it out when it first aired? Well, I don’t know. I don’t think I’d really heard anything about it until it was already mid-season, but I’m a TV blogger. That probably is no excuse.

I’ve also never seen The Walking Dead, mainly because I’m not a zombie fan, and I fear it will give me nightmares (seriously). I’m not opposed to it, and I know it’s a quality program, but it’s just not up my alley. True Blood, also never saw that.

What else? Well, the other shows that come to mind are ones that have come and gone. Like The Sopranos. Never saw that either. I really hadn’t seen Wonderfalls until about a month or two ago, but fortunately, that’s changed. I plan to continue through that series.

But what about you? What cult–or fan–favorites have you never seen? What’s stopped you? And do you want to check them out?

image from wired.com

7 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Cult Favorites You’ve Never Seen

  1. Mad Men is on the list for me as well. I haven’t gotten around to it yet and obviously want to start from the beginning. The Sopranos used to be on my list, but I finally started watching it and am now on season 4. I love it!

  2. My list would just get embarrassingly long, but a sample of the shows I’d like to get off the list might be Wonderfalls, Freaks & Geeks, and Pushing Daisies.

    As for others… some shows’ premises and character types just never pique my curiosity, no matter how many people rave about them — Lost and True Blood are on that list, I’m afraid.

    I’ve been Netflixing Mad Men recently, though, and I’m really loving it.

  3. That’s one I’ve wanted to check out, too. It’s sitting in my queue. But it’s hard to bring myself to watch a show that got canceled. I don’t want to get too invested.

    It’s kinda like trying to introduce someone to Joan of Arcadia or Tru Calling. Great shows, but abruptly ended.

  4. True, but several of my favorite shows to watch have been cancelled series that only lasted a season or two: Firefly, Dollhouse, Undeclared, Better Off Ted, Freaks and Geeks, Wonderfalls, etc. The reason being that it’s a quick run through from beginning to end and the quality tends to stay at a consistent level, unlike a show such as Scrubs, which requires you to invest 9 seasons worth of time to watch it and which went on so long that the quality of the show from season to season is somewhat less even.

Leave a Reply

