Thursday Open Thread: Songs that Remind You of Shows

Yesterday as I was driving to work, I rocked out to Gavin DeGraw‘s “I Don’t Wanna Be” on the radio. It got me thinking, of course, about One Tree Hill–not only because it’s the theme song (though I love how they’re incorporating various covers of the song every week), but because One Tree Hill really made a solid effort to support Gavin DeGraw, much like they’ve done for Kate Voegele and Wakey Wakey. In fact, when I hear “Almost Everything,” I can only think of the OTH character and his finishing the album to get over his unrequited love. Or “Brooklyn” and the OTH promo that used it.

So what songs or artists remind you of shows?

It can be a fun or painful question. Painful, why? Well, let’s just say that every time I hear “With or Without You,” I think of Rachel looking lamentingly out her apartment window on Friends. I don’t generally like to think of Ross and Rachel out of any famous TV couple.

On the other hand, I love Joshua Radin and Colin Hay’s “Overkill,” and I love that both of them remind me of Scrubs. It’s funny. Some of these songs don’t even play important roles in the shows, but I still think of them. It doesn’t have to be a theme song to remind you of something, you know?

So what’s on your TV soundtrack, and what show does it remind you of? It can be a promo, episode montage, or hey, I’ll even throw in a theme song. After all, do any of you not think of Dawson’s Creek when you hear “I Don’t Want to Wait”?

Now, I put a TON of links up there to artists and even clips, so instead of an image, how about something adorable and cute?

Unrelated to the show, they just put this up as a cold open. Love it.

10 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Songs that Remind You of Shows

  1. Oh, here’s one. Any time I hear Fatboy Slim’s “Praise You,” I think of Suddenly Susan. When David Strickland died mid-series, they said that his character just disappeared. And as they were standing in his apartment, they were talking about how he loved that song, and then they could all hear it playing outside.

    Honestly, it’s kinda sad.

  2. Don’t Stop Believing by Journey will now and forever be associated with the last few minutes of The Sopranos. It’s gotten to the point now when I hear that song out somewhere, I half expect it to cut off abruptly at the end just like the show did.

  3. Shot Through the Heart by Bon Jovi. Any time I hear this, I fully expect to see How I Met Your Mother’s Marshall run through smoke toward me.

  4. Jim Croce’s Time In A Bottle will always remind me of the Muppet Show.

    David Gray’s Please Forgive Me will always remind me of the 1st episode of Scrubs.

    Of course, there are many, many songs that remind me of both of these shows, but I think these are the two that hit me hardest.

  5. Phantom Planet’ “california” from the OC.
    Also related to the OC, Any of the many covers of Lenord Cohen’s “Hallelujah” as that was playing when Marisa dies.
    “Boogie Shoes” reminds me of the epsidoe of Sports Night and the end scene of when everyone comes back to the office after getting kicked out of the bar.

  6. It’s actually surprising how many songs remind me of Scrubs.

    As for another one, I can’t say an actual song reminds me of Grey’s Anatomy, but any time I hear something by The Fray (uggh), it reminds me of that show. I can’t promise every song I hear by them is on the show (though there’s a high likelihood), but it definitely always reminds me of Grey’s.

  7. I didn’t watch The O.C., but that reminds me of that show, too.

    Did they really play “Hallelujah” in that death scene? Why did I remember reading something saying that they played “I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight”? I thought I read something saying that they played that, which was painful since she did, well, die in his arms.

    I, of course, trust you, someone who watched it, more than a memory of a random article, but I thought I’d ask since I’ve always been wondering whether they really did that.

  8. I just heard “More Than a Feeling” on the radio and was instantly transported into Scrubs with Turk’s air-band. So there’s another.

    Also, was in the grocery store, and heard “Wonderful, Wonderful.” There was an X-Files episode that featured that song, and it was quite creepy, despite the bright lights of the store.

  9. I heard Carry On My Wayward Son on the radio the other day and immediately thought of Ted and The Gooch.

  10. “Air on a G String” by Bach (especially played by cello) will always remind me of West Wing. I love that song.

Leave a Reply

