Thursday Open Thread: Your Dream Cast

This one goes out to commenter CS, who came up with this idea. I’ve sat on it for a while, mainly because I don’t really have an answer for it completely. But it’s too good of an idea to waste.

Who would be in your dream cast for a TV show?

It can be any kind of show–comedy, drama, reality (sigh)–so if you have something like that in mind, go ahead and share the deets. As for me? Well, like I said, I have a hard time picking. Here’s my starting lineup:

Lizzie Caplan (Mean Girls, Party Down, Tru Calling)
Jewel Staite (Firefly, Serenity, Higher Ground)
Daniel Dae Kim (Lost, Hawaii 5-0)

I chose these people because both Caplan and Staite have a wide range of acting under their belts. They can play any kind of character. As for Kim, well, anyone who can pull off two languages flawlessly–even faking a broken accent–gets stars in my book.

This is kind-of a random start, and I really have no idea what kind of show it could be. With a cast like this, we could go anywhere from an office situation comedy to a spy drama. I would, however, hope that there are some snazzy one-liners for comedic relief a la Firefly or Studio 60 in there, just because I don’t like melodrama all that much. Speaking of, maybe I should toss in Bradley Whitford…minus the mustache. Hmm, I’ll have to think about that one.

So what do you think? Who would be in your dream cast?

Maybe Maura Tierney…eh, I’m debating that one, too…

5 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Your Dream Cast

  1. I’m not sure if this is exactly my ideal cast, but I’d love to see some sort of lighthearted hour-long ’80s type action show starring a trio of Nathan Fillion, David Boreanaz, and Ben Browder. Each has this ability to pull off the action thing while being both witty and self deprecating. The blending (or lack thereof) of their fictional egos would only be hilarious. I feel like a female costar would also be necessary, but am undecided on who. Felicia Day, as a slightly awkward sidekick just trying to keep up with these guys? Lizzie Caplan as an entirely unimpressed coworker? A cameo by Scott Bakula or Tom Selleck would definitely be required at some point during the season.

  2. I’d watch that.

    I was thinking about putting Nathan Fillion with Enver Gjokaj and watching the hijinks ensue. Maybe with David Tennant, Katee Sackhoff, Olivia Williams, and Sean Maher to play the straight man. Anyone from Firefly always welcome for that matter.

    Or, maybe a supernatural show about three sisters starring Amy Acker, Summer Glau, and Felicia Day.

    Noooo, no Whedon bias on this blog. 😀

  3. And why shouldn’t there be? The actors Whedon casts all manage to easily handle walking that fine line between action, comedy, and drama. Very dynamic and very likable. Of course I’m now imagining Enver as a recurring villain in my show. Maybe as support for a disturbingly serious Dave Foley.

  4. Olivia Williams, Jennifer Beals, Monica Raymond, Archie Penjabi, Enver Gjokaj, Glenn Close, Leisha Hailey, Fran Kranz, CCH Pounder, Lauren Graham, Tim Roth.

    Written by Jane Espenson and Tim Minear.

    Every time I tried to add a man to that list my brain bypassed for a woman. At least it’s a pretty diverse (in age and ethnicity) cast.

Leave a Reply

