Thursday Open Thread: The Emmys!

The Emmys are THIS SUNDAY! They snuck up on me this year. So much so that I have travel plans on Sunday, and I can’t even promise that I’ll be able to tune in (and with other TV conflicts like a two-hour Drop Dead Diva finale, I’m not sure whether I want to). Either way, there are some good shows and actors nominated, so I thought we might want to discuss it.

Who do you want to win? Who do you want to lose?

Because many of you might not keep up with TV blogs as regularly as I do (and for those of you who keep up with this one–thanks!), you might not know all the nominees. So here are the highlights. You can also see more here.

OUTSTANDING DRAMA
Lost
Breaking Bad
Dexter
Mad Men
True Blood
The Good Wife

OUTSTANDING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA
Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife)
Mariska Hargitay (Special Victims Unit)
Glenn Close (Damages)
Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer)
January Jones (Mad Men)
Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights)

OUTSTANDING ACTOR IN A DRAMA
Jon Hamm (Mad Men)
Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights)
Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad)
Hugh Laurie (House M.D.)
Michael C. Hall (Dexter)
Matthew Fox (Lost)

OUTSTANDING ACTOR IN A DRAMA
John Slattery (Mad Men)
Aaron Paul (Breaking Bad)
Martin Short (Damages)
Terry O’ Quinn (Lost)
Michael Emerson (Lost)
Andre Braugher (Men of a Certain Age)

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA
Sharon Gless (Burn Notice)
Christine Baranski (The Good Wife)
Christina Hendricks (Mad Men)
Rose Byrne (Damages)
Archie Panjabi (The Good Wife)
Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men)

COMEDY

OUTSTANDING COMEDY
Glee
Modern Family
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Nurse Jackie
30 Rock
The Office
Curb Your Enthusiasm

OUTSTANDING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Lea Michele (Glee)
Tina Fey (30 Rock)
Toni Collette (The United States of Tara)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus (The New Adventures of Old Christine)
Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie)
Amy Poehler (Parks and Recreation)

OUTSTANDING ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm)
Alec Baldwin (30 Rock)
Matthew Morrison (Glee)
Steve Carell (The Office)
Jim Parsons (The Big Bang Theory)
Tony Shalhoub (Monk)

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Chris Colfer (Glee)
Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother)
Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family)
Jon Cryer (Two and A Half Men)
Eric Stonestreet (Modern Family)
Ty Burrell (Modern Family)

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Jane Lynch (Glee)
Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live)
Jane Krakowski (30 Rock)
Julie Bowen (Modern Family)
Sofia Vergara (Modern Family)
Holland Taylor (Two and A Half Men)

So I won’t tell you my choices for all of them, but I hope Glee doesn’t win. The show’s alright and all, but the writing isn’t great, and I’m not thrilled that it’s even nominated, even if it’s clever.

For that matter, I hope that Jim Parsons doesn’t win. I like The Big Bang Theory, but I feel like his character is more hype than anything else, especially now that we’re a few seasons in. Tony Schaloub or Alec Baldwin, though, they’d be fine. And of course, NPH for Supporting Actor. That’d be legen–wait for it–

–dary.

As for dramas, well, I don’t watch many of these, but now that I’m through the first five seasons of Lost, I’ll root for that. And Dexter. Why not? I’ll live dangerously (though I think they’ve got a good shot in their categories).

And what about you?

image from daemonstv.com

2 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: The Emmys!

  1. I’m hoping Lost and Modern Family win big. I don’t want to give anything away with Lost, but I definitely think Matthew Fox deserves the win there. I’d love to see any of the actors win from Modern Family. That show is hilarious!!

  2. from the top down.
    -Breaking Bad, though i think lost might win
    -January Jones, i dont watch any of them, so its a wild guess.
    -Bryan Cranston, i hear good things
    -I dont watch any, so maybe someone from lost
    -the mom from Burn Notice, cause i love me some burn notice
    -I love 30 rock, but i bet it will be Curb
    -I want Amy Pohler, but my bet is on Toni Collete
    -i think Jim Parsons adds a lot to the show, often carrying the show most times. i think the writers now know what Jim can do with the character, and write for him accordingly. He desrves a win.
    -chris Coffer, glee. he does well. this show is carried by the supporting characters
    -Jane Lynch, see above

Leave a Reply

