Masterchef: Eggs and Onions

JC here with a few thoughts on last night’s Masterchef.

MASTER CHEF: 1.03

I know last week’s review of Masterchef lacked a fair bit of enthusiasm, but that’s because the episode was basically the same as the first one. Not much was going on. Although there was some new ground covered in episode three, unfortunately I found it just as boring. The episode began with an onion cutting challenge. The contestants had to full two bowls, one full of diced onions and the other full of sliced ones. Onion dicing, particularly trying to get the pieces into a uniform size, is not as easy as it seems so it’s not surprising that some contestants cut their hands, and number of others were sent home almost immediately for poor cutting techniques.

Round Two required the contestants to cook a dish using one egg as the centerpiece. Only 14 people advanced to the next round. None of the dishes were particularly memorable, though that’s probably because they didn’t spend all that much time evaluating them. We’re still at the winnowing stage, so there are too many people and dishes to focus in on a few and get some really specific feedback from the judges. I guess that’s the real problem with early episodes of a show like this.

The worst part of last night’s episode has to be the contrived, overly dramatic deliveries of judgment. I know the episode was boring, and I know the judges were trying to inject some drama into the show, but dramatically declaring, “You should all take off your aprons…..<cut to commercial, then return>… and then tie them back on tighter because you’re moving on to the next round!!” was just so hokey that I found myself annoyed.

I still don’t know what kind of challenges everyone will be facing next, but I hope the show keeps cutting contestants down at a quick pace. Much like Top Chef, I fear this show won’t really start getting interesting until the total number of contestants has been cut down to 6 or 8.

One thought on “Masterchef: Eggs and Onions

  1. I think it was good that they cut back based on basic skills: cutting an onion. My annoyance was that there really wasn’t any real judgment made, which I agree with you on. On Top Chef, you can bet there would have been some zooming in on strips of onion so you could really see what was good or bad, but here, they just dipped their hands in and made a quick decision off the top of their heads. I mean, think of the Boston guy with his potatoes or onions–I forget which. I mean, it was less about what he did right or wrong and more about making him tense with Gordon Ramsey. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

