Mark-Paul Gosselaar on ‘Rizzoli & Isles’ tonight!

I must say, I miss my Raising the Bar team. That’s why I was so excited to see Teddy Sears on The Client List. I just miss them.

Well, if you’re like me, then tonight we’re in luck. Mark-Paul Gosselaar is guest starring on Rizzoli & Isles! That’s right, you can check him out back on TNT tonight at 10-9c.

Gosselaar plays Garrett Fairfield, a college boyfriend of Dr. Maura Isles. Garrett is the handsome middle son of a wealthy and powerful old Boston family who returns home to mourn the death of his oldest brother.  Garrett’s family is a member of the respected “Brahmins,” Boston’s oldest families, who trace their roots back to the landing of the Mayflower.  Between boyfriends and bodies, this means that we’re in for a treat.

Wow, that was morbid.

Anyway, that’s not all that he’s got in store for us. I was lucky enough to talk to Gosselaar on a conference call last week, where he chatted about his role on the show, his new show for next summer (Franklin & Bash–a lawyer comedy), and his upcoming appearance on Weeds!

It was a pretty quick call, but check out the highlights below. And don’t forget to watch Rizzoli & Isles tonight!

*****

On working with the girls of Rizzoli & Isles:

[W]orking with the two girls, it was great.  We had a relationship before I actually stepped foot on the set.  I know – I’ve known Angie for a while.  I met Sasha on our way to the upfront this year for TNT, and they’re lovely.  They’re great to work with.  I’m also friends with the writer who wrote the episode as well as the director who directed the episode, and then, of course, my relationship with TNT.  So it was a – it was fun environment to be a part of.

On being the guest star:

Well…it’s been a while.  I had fun and sometimes it’s a bit easier.  You just show up, do your work, and go home and you don’t really need to worry about anything else.  It was – it was nice, but like I said, it was a good environment to be a part of and definitely felt like some of the other sets that I’ve – that I’ve ran, they’re great, the two of them, and as well as the production was really strong.  So, yes, it was – it was painless.

[Read more after the break!]

On Franklin & Bash:

I’ve really only done the pilot, but I do play an attorney and it’s a comedy….I play Bash. I play Peter Bash.  The other character is Jared Franklin played by Breckin Meyer.

It’s a buddy comedy.  It’s a – we’ve used examples like Super Bad and The Hangover and Wedding Crashers.  It’s a fun life comedy with elements of drama obviously because it takes place in a courtroom.  But great, strong cast, and Malcolm McDowell plays the patriarch of a firm that we eventually go to work for.  We’re just street lawyers, sort of ambulance chasers, if you will, who get by by taking cases and are living the life, and finally sort of agree upon that they need to grow up and maybe get a real job.

Comedic vs. dramatic roles:

You know everything has its – has its time and purpose and doing a comedy at this point in my career and life just is fitting.  So I’m enjoying doing a comedy at the moment, but that doesn’t mean that I’d turn my back on another drama…I don’t have a preference, but at the moment, I’m enjoying doing a comedy.

Is one easier than the other?

I think it’s all relative and it all depends on what the character is and what the role is and it is and it’s more difficult at the time for me to do comedy just because I haven’t done a comedy in many years and you’re just trying to find a nuances and the beats.  Yes, I think as I become more familiar with my character and more familiar with the style of the show and just the general layout it’ll become easier.  But at the moment, doing Franklin & Bash is more difficult than any of the dramas I’ve done in the past.

On Weeds:

Yes, that’s one the most graphic episodes that they’ve done in the past.  So it’s Mary-Louise and I in a bar, and then there’s a bit of a chemistry between us and we kind of go at it.  So without giving too much away, it’s pretty graphic.  It’s pretty – it’s pretty premium.

His dream role?

I’d probably like to do a big budgeted film like an action. An action would be kind of fun – to learn a new skill, to work with a great ensemble.  Yes, sort of – I wouldn’t mind doing these sort of comic book – comic book films or playing something that I’d have to train for.  That’d be sort of fun.

On movies and TV:

I’ve been in television for so long I need to start doing more films…I’ve been offered a couple but nothing that’s really piqued my interest.  But, yes, we’re currently looking.  I’ve been fortunate enough to be on television all these years and not had to actively pursue doing film, but that’ll be definitely something that I work on in the future.

*****

Don’t forget to watch Gosselaar on Rizzoli & Isles tonight on TNT! And keep an eye out for new info about his upcoming show Franklin & Bash!

*images courtesy of TNT and Daemon’s TV

One thought on “Mark-Paul Gosselaar on ‘Rizzoli & Isles’ tonight!

  1. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: Hey, whatever happened to…? « Raked

Leave a Reply

