Thursday Open Thread: Major letdowns

We’ve done an open thread on disappointments, but let’s go a little beyond that. I was just thinking today how I missed watching my drama-filled episodes of The Best Years and instead I got this crappy season two that deserved to to be cancelled.

What shows have let you down?

I randomly got a review copy of The Best Years a year or two back, and I must say, I wasn’t expecting much. But somehow I got really hooked and really invested in the show–especially the characters. Every week was a life or death drama, and honestly, when I would tell JC what happened, he wouldn’t believe so much happened in one season. So after eagerly awaiting the start of season two (which I had to watch online because I wasn’t Canadian), how disappointed was I to see that half the cast had gone, we’d jumped ahead months, and it was…boring? I was just so…let down.

Sure, I’m sure there were extenuating circumstances. The show did have a long hiatus, and they might not have been able to get all the actors back, but even the writing and plots just sucked. Give me back my drama.

And it’s not just random Canadian teen shows that does it. Look at the second season of Heroes! There was no excitement and new characters that I had no interest in. Honestly, It was a relief when the writers strike cut it short.

But what about you? Has a show just ever let you down? It can be an old favorite or something you were just getting into. It can even be a minor storyline that you just thought, why is this on my show?

Let me know what you think in the comments.

image from buddytv.com

By the way, apparently you can still watch some of The Best Years online. Check it out.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Major letdowns

  1. Burn Notice has taken that turn with me. I loved it Season 1 and with each passing season its spiffy fun atmosphere has deflated. I’ve officially given up on this season.

  2. Psych is also going that way. That said, I haven’t started watching this current season.

    Hm. I think I’ll start the premiere while I make lunch.

  3. I’ll say that I was extremely interested in Memphis Blue, but after watching the pilot, I completely lost any interest at all in it.

  4. You didn’t like Memphis Beat? I thought it was pretty good, but I have a lot of procedurals in my life currently. It didn’t deflate expectations, though.

  5. Hello! Higher Ground! I know I didn’t find it until, what, 4 or 5 years after it aired, but it makes me mad that they just dropped it after one season. >:O

Leave a Reply

