Thursday Open Thread: How’s your summer?

Mad props for Adam from TVDoneWright for coming up with this great open thread topic, and I have to say, it’s something that JC and I have been discussing over the last few weeks. And I’m sure you’ve felt it, too, what with how slow this site has been updating.

How’s your summer treating you? Too slow or just right?

I’m not saying there’s nothing on. I mean, give me Leverage and White Collar, and I’m all set. TNT and USA are packed with new TV episodes–and some new shows–so I shouldn’t be complaining. But somehow, most of them have fallen on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, and I tend to forget when shows air. (Good thing I have a TiVo!) It’s almost as though the competition between the networks–putting their best shows against each other on the same night–is making me not watch instead of balancing between the two. That’s bad.

I happened to stumble across a new episode of Psych yesterday, and it was hilarious. Just the fact that I wasn’t keeping my eye out is sad! Madness, really.

For me, the summer’s just been dragging. I love my cable shows, but I need something more. What about you? Are you happy with your summer viewing experience, or do you want more more more? Can you wait until fall?

Let me know in the comments!

image courtesy of USA

I’m seriously forgetting to catch this man live on Tuesday night? How is that possible?

5 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: How’s your summer?

  1. First off whoever this Adam is is one brilliant man. And most likely handsome 😉

    As for this summer, I would say it’s slower than usual. Especially on Wednesday nights.

    Here’s what I am watching:

    -True Blood
    -Mad Men (THIS SUNDAY!!!! :D)
    -Hung (Although giving up soon…)
    -Entourage
    -Hell’s Kitchen
    -Rookie Blue
    -Big Brother 12 (you know, because I hate myself)
    -Degrassi (you know, because I’m Canadian)

  2. Degrassi is a dangerously addictive show. Too bad it’s always run at, like, 10 am on MTV here…

    We have substituted our boring nights with Lost. We’re mid-season four, for those of us who don’t want to spoil it.

    I bet if I had premium channels, it might help, but we’re putting more against Leverage and Drop Dead Diva on Sunday? I sure hope these survive the summer!

  3. I haven’t been watching any shows this summer. I don’t mind it too much because it gives me a chance to catch up on movies I haven’t seen and have been wanting to see! It’s nice to actually watch the Netflix DVD when it comes in rather than a few weeks later. 🙂

  4. This summer has felt just painfully slow, and I don’t know why. What’s worse, there doesn’t really seem to be anything coming up for the fall that I’m interested in either. Maybe we’re too far out, but I don’t know.

  5. I’ve been enjoying the nonevent that this summer’s TV schedule has been. It’s allowed me to fit in some time to watch DVDs that have been sitting on my shelf for awhile. I’m currently in the midst of working my way through the entire series of Scrubs.

    And as for this fall’s lackluster lineups, is it a bad sign that I’m more interested in this September’s upcoming TVDVD releases than I am in any season premieres, new or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

